• Tuesday, Dec 10, 2019
  • Last Update : 12:59 am

Gono Forum’s Mokobbir to be sworn in Tuesday

  • Published at 06:14 pm April 1st, 2019
web_Mukobbir Khan
File photo of Gono Forum Leader Mokobbir Khan who contested and won from Sylhet 2 constituency during the 11th general election Collected

Mokobbir Khan won from Sylhet 2 in the last general election

Gono Forum's second MP-elect, Mokobbir Khan from Sylhet 2 constituency, will be sworn-in on Tuesday in the footsteps of the party’s first MP, Sultan Mohammad Mansur Ahmed.

In response to a letter sent by Mokobbir to Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury on Monday, an arrangement has been made to administer his oath at 12pm on Tuesday at the Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban.

Gono Forum’s Central Executive Committee member, Maj (retd) Afsary Ameen Ahmed, gave the letter to parliament around 4:40pm.

Also Read-  Gono Forum leader Sultan Mansur takes oath as MP

On Gono Forum letterhead, the letter said Mokobbir’s party was in favour of him taking the MP oath of office, either on April 2 or 3.

Talking to UNB, Mokobbir said he sent the letter upon the decision of their Party Presidium members. "The party leaders and President Dr Kamal Hossain are aware of it."

Replying to a question, he also said Dr Kamal gave him the green signal to take oath. "Besides, the people of my constituency also requested me to be sworn in."

Also Read-  Gono Forum expels Sultan Mansur

On March 7, Sultan Mansur took oath oath of office as a member of the 11th parliament from Moulvibazar 2 constituency.

His party, however, expelled Sultan Mansur hours after he was sworn-in.

On March 3, both Gono Forum MPs-elect had sent separate letters to the speaker requesting her to arrange their oath-taking ceremony on March 7.

However, Mokobbir backed out at the last minute.

Also Read-  Gono Forum MP backs out of taking oath

BNP, Gono Forum, and some other parties, participated in the last general election held on December 30, 2018 in alliance under the banner of Jatiya Oikya Front.

BNP bagged six seats and Gono Forum two, and Awami League won by a landslide.

Oikya Front rejected the election results, alleging “massive vote robbery” by the ruling party and decided not to join parliament.