• Friday, Dec 04, 2020
  • Last Update : 10:38 am

Gono Forum expels Sultan Mansur

  • Published at 05:21 pm March 7th, 2019
Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administers oath to new member of the 11th parliament Sultan Mohammad Mansur at a ceremony in the parliament complex in Dhaka on Thursday, March 7, 2019 BSS

He has also been relieved from the steering committee of the Jatiya Oikya Front

Gono Forum has expelled Sultan Mohammad Mansur Ahmed for taking oath as a member of the 11th parliament violating the party’s discipline.

The party’s General Secretary Mostafa Mohsin Montu made the announcement at a press conference at the Gono Forum office in Dhaka’s Arambagh on Thursday — hours after Mansur was sworn-in as the lawmaker from the Moulvibazar 2 constituency.

Contesting the 11th general election, held on December 30 last year, Mansur had won from that seat with BNP’s sheaf of paddy symbol under the banner of Gono Forum, a component of the Jatiya Oikya Front.

A letter, signed by Montu, regarding Mansur’s expulsion was also sent to Mansur on Thursday.

“Your primary membership has been suspended and you have been expelled from Gono Forum for your activities against the party’s policy, ideals and people’s interest,” the letter said addressing Mansur.

It said that Mansur was also relieved from the steering committee of the Oikya Front, which is led by Gono Forum President Dr Kamal Hossain.

Oikya Front, which also has BNP, Nagorik Oikya and Krishak Sramik Janata League, had rejected the last general election and its results, alleging gross vote rigging by ruling party men and irregularities.

Also Read- Gono Forum's Sultan Mansur takes oath as MP

The political platform has also decided that its candidates who won from eight constituencies would not take oath, rejecting the election results.

Top brass knew about oath taking

However, after the swearing-in ceremony conducted by Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury Thursday morning, veteran politician Mansur had told reporters that he took oath to his office in “full knowledge” of the top brass of Oikya Front and Gono Forum, reports Bangla Tribune.

He said: “I took the decision as a representative of the Oikya Front and I can say that the top leaders are fully aware of it.”

The former vice-president of Dhaka University Central Students’ Union (Ducsu), however, declined to comment on the party’s decision to take action against him.

“I will not answer these queries now, because I was there when Oikya Front took these decisions,” he said, before adding that Gono Forum is also entitled to its own decisions as a party and he will carry out his role.

Later at the press conference, Mostafa Mohsin Montu said: “We think he [Sultan Mansur] deceived the pro-people principles of our party and acted against our party charter. He took oath today violating party discipline and our instructions.”

Apart from Mansur’s expulsion from the Gono Forum, he said they will take further necessary action against him in the days to come.

Montu added that the party action against Mansur was taken as per the directives of the Oikya Front Convener Dr Kamal.

‘18 years in political prison’

On Thursday evening, Mansur also attended the parliament session and addressed it taking part in an unscheduled discussion.

Also Read- BNP criticizes Sultan Mansur’s oath taking

He said he was in a political prison for the past 18 years. Hinting towards ruling Awami League, he said: “I was supposed to be there. I did politics for that [ruling] alliance.

“I had a chance to make it to the House 18 years ago. But fate intervened and I spent all those years in the political prison.”

“However, there is no compromise when it comes to Joy Bangla, Joy Bangabandhu,” he added. “I had lost my rhythm in the political arena, but I never veered from the ideals of Bangabandhu.”

What about Mokabbir?

Earlier, on March 2, the Gono Forum MPs-elect — Mansur and Mokabbir Khan — had sent letters to the speaker, requesting her to arrange their oath-taking ceremony on Thursday.

On Sunday, the office of the speaker issued separate letters to the duo, inviting them to take oath.

However, a press release stated on Wednesday said that Mokabbir, who won from Sylhet 2, will not take oath Thursday for unavoidable reasons.

Asked whether Mokabbir can take oath, Gono Forum Secretary Montu on Thursday said that they were yet to take any concrete decision in this regard.

He said they would decide on the later if Gono Forum and Oikya Front partners think their representatives should go to parliament as part of a movement against the current “illegal government.”

Meanwhile, BNP Senior Joint Secretary General Ruhul Kabir Rizvi on Thursday described Mansur’s oath taking, violating Oikya Front’s decision, as an act of fraudulence in politics.

“His party (Gono Forum) has said it will take action against him. I just want to say they will turn into mass enemies for breaching commitment and political fraudulence,” he told a press conference at the BNP’s Naya Paltan headquarters in the afternoon.

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail