• Friday, Nov 22, 2019
  • Last Update : 12:29 pm

BNP conducting ‘post-mortem’ on Dec 30 polls

  • Published at 10:19 am February 6th, 2019
web-bnp-election-post mortem
Bangla Tribune

BNP is an important alliance member of Jatiya Oikya Front

BNP has started collecting details about the general election held on December 30 last year, calling it a “post-mortem on voting” held in all constituencies.

“The post-mortem on voting has started. However, it will take time to finish the work for 300 parliamentary seats,” Oikya Front’s Steering Committee member Subrata Chowdhury said.

BNP, an important coalition member of Jatiya Oikya Front, is carrying out its operation under the banner of the Bangladesh Voting Rights Movement; which will later reveal the findings.

BNP’s candidates for the 11th parliamentary election have started working on the matter and some of them have already finished the work.

Zahir Uddin Sawpan, who contested the polls for Barisal 1, has completed the post-mortem on voting in his constituency.

“To my knowledge, many other candidates have also finished their work and gradually, all constituencies will be covered,” Sawpan said.

A copy of a post-mortem report, which has been collected by the correspondent, shows that the party has collected almost all information about the votes.

The report includes different figures on numbers of total votes, casting of votes and cancelled. It also includes the figures of votes bagged by the candidates of: BNP, Oikya Front, Awami League, and others.

It identifies the number of voting stations where BNP and Oikya Front secured a majority and minority of votes; in addition to the number of polling centres where they received less than 100 votes.

BNP also figured out of the number of its aspirants that lost their security deposits and how many of Awami League’s candidates bagged over 80% of votes.

Oikya Front only managed to win eight seats while its arch-rival, the Awami League-led Grand Alliance, secured a landslide victory; winning 288 constituencies in the 300-seat parliament.