• Friday, Nov 22, 2019
  • Last Update : 02:54 am

PM hosts tea party for political leaders

  • Published at 06:21 pm February 2nd, 2019
Prime minister Sheikh Hasina sits with politicians on the lawn of ganabhaban, her official residence, for a tea party on Saturday; February 02, 2019 Focus Bangla

The premier had invited leaders of 54 political parties to the event. Of them, only Jatiya Oikya Front’s member parties stayed away

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina hosted a tea party for leaders of political alliances and organizations who joined her dialogue before the 11th general election.

Hasina, also the president of Awami League, hosted the party at the South Lawn of Ganabhaban, her official residence, in Dhaka on Saturday afternoon, reports BSS.

Front ranking leaders of different political parties, including Awami League, Jatiya Party (JaPa), Workers Party, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JaSaD-Inu), JP (Manju), JSD (Ambia), Bangladesher Samajtantrik Dal, Samyabadi Dal, Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh, Islami Oikya Jote, Tariqat Federation, and Bangladesh Nationalist Front (BNF), attended the party.

The prime minister arrived at the venue at 4:10pm and exchanged pleasantries with the politicians.

She went round different tables set for the guests, talked to them and enquired about their well-being.

Speaker of the parliament, Dr Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury, senior ruling party leaders Obaidul Quader, Amir Hossain Amu, Matia Chowdhury, Engineer Mosharraf Hossain, Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim, Nurul Islam Nahid, Faruk Khan, Abdul Matin Khashru, Dr Abdur Razzak, Dr Hasan Mahmud, Industries Minister Nurul Majid Mahmud Humayun, Housing and Public Works Minister SM Rezaul Karim, Education Minister Dr Dipu Moni, JaPa senior leader and former opposition leader Raushan Ershad, JaPa Co-Chairman GM Quader and Secretary General Moshiur Rahman Ranga, Ruhul Amin Hawlader, Ziauddin Ahmed Bablu, Anisul Islam Mahmud, Mujibul Haque Chunnu, Sunil Shubho Roy, JP (Manju) President Anwar Hossain Manju, JaSaD President Hasanul Haque Inu and General Secretary Shirin Akhtar, JSD (Ambia) leaders Moinuddin Khan Badal and Nazmul Haque Prodhan, Workers Party President Rashed Khan Menon, and General Secretary Fazle Hossain Badsha, joined the party.

Prime minister Sheikh Hasina speaks with politicians, including Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, on the lawn of ganabhaban, her official residence, for a tea party on Saturday; February, 2019 | Focus BanglaBikalpa Dhara President Dr Badruddoza Chowdhury, General Secretary Maj (retd) MA Mannan, Mahi B Chowdhury, Shamsher Mobin Chowdhury, Islami Oikya Jote President Misbahur Rahman Chowdhury, Tariqat Federation President Nojibul Bashar Maizbhandari, Samyabadi Dal President Dilip Barua, BNF President Barrister Nazmul Huda and other leaders of Awami League, the 14-party coalition, and the prime minister’s advisers and secretaries, were also present on the occasion.

The lush green south lawn of Ganabhaban was tastefully decorated with rural household materials, while patriotic songs were played on the occasion.

The guests were entertained with traditional foods and cakes of Bangladesh, including Chatpati, Fuchka, Muri, Chanachur, Bhapa Pitha, Chitai Pitha, Patisapta, and Puli Pitha, Zilapi, kebab, and nan ruti.

According to a source at the Prime Minister’s Office, the premier invited leaders of 54 political parties to the tea party.

The leaders of all political parties except Jatiya Oikya Front, which has BNP as a key element, attended the tea party, the source added.

The prime minister had held dialogues with the political parties at Ganabhaban from November 1-7 ahead of the general election held on December 30.