• Wednesday, Feb 26, 2020
  • Last Update : 08:03 pm

Dr Kamal: Gono Forum MPs-elect will not join parliament

  • Published at 09:54 pm January 31st, 2019
web-Gono Forum President Dr Kamal Hossain
File photo of Gono Forum President and Jatiya Oikya Front leader Dr Kamal Hossain Mehedi Hasan/Dhaka Tribune

Oikya Front not joining PM's tea party, says Fakhrul

Gono Forum President and Jatiya Oikya Front convener Dr Kamal Hossain has said the MPs elected from the party in the 11th general election will not join parliament.

Dr Kamal made the remarks while addressing reporters after a meeting of the Jatiya Oikya Front Steering Committee at his Motijheel chamber yesterday, reports UNB.

BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal President ASM Abdur Rab, its General Secretary Abdul Malek Ratan, Gono Forum Executive President Subrata Chowdhury, Nagorik Oikya Convener Mahmudur Rahman Manna, Krishak Sramik Janata League General Secretary Iqbal Siddiqui, and Gonoshasthya Kendra founder Dr Zafrullah Chowdhury were present at the meeting, among others. Dr Kamal served as chair.

"We have clearly conveyed to them (the two MPs) our party's decision to not join parliament, and they will not do so," Dr Kamal said.

According to media reports, Gono Forum MPs-elect Sultan Mohammad Mansur from Moulvibazar2 and Mokabbir Khan from Sylhet 2 were willing to join parliament to show respect for the people's mandate in their favour during the 11th general election on December 30.

BNP, Gono Forum, and a number of other political parties took part in the general election under the Jatiya Oikya Front political alliance. The alliance managed to win a total eight seats out of 298, with BNP bagging six and Gono Forum two.

Oikya Front has repeatedly rejected the results of the polls and demanded a re-election, bringing allegations of widespread vote rigging.

The first session of the new parliament began on Wednesday, without the participation of the eight MPs-elect of Oikya Front

Meanwhile, Oikya Front has also decided not to join Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina’s tea party at Ganabhaban on February 2, describing it as a "mockery."

BNP Secretary General and Oikya Front spokesman Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir said: "Several thousands of our leaders and activists have been jailed, while many others were killed and injured during the election. Many candidates were also injured."

"Under these circumstances, we think the arranging of a tea party by the prime minister is nothing but a mockery. As such, we think it is not necessary to join it," he added.

A press release later issued by Oikya Front read:  “The Steering Committee unanimously decided not to take part in the tea party at Ganabhaban.” 

Describing the December 30 election as a farce, it added that a government elected in such a manner is “in no way a moral one.”

On January 26, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina invited senior leaders of Jatiya Oikya Front to exchange greetings at Ganabhaban over tea on February 2.

Oikya Front announces programs protesting ‘vote robbery’

Jatiya Oikya Front has announced various programs protesting what it described as “vote robbery” during the December 30 general election.

BNP Secretary General and Oikya Front spokesman Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir announced the programs after yesterday’s meeting of the Oikya Front Steering Committee.

He said: "The Oikya Front Steering Committee has decided to hold a black badge protest in front of the National Press club on February 6, to protest the vote robbery on December 30.”

Fakhrul added that the program will begin at 3pm and conclude at 4pm.

He further said Oikya Front will hold a public hearing with the participation of candidates from the alliance and “victimized voters” on February 24. The venue for the public hearing is yet to be decided.