• Tuesday, Oct 20, 2020
  • Last Update : 08:26 pm

BNP withdraws expulsion order against Tanvir Siddiqi, 7 others

  • Published at 06:28 pm November 12th, 2018
Chowdhury Tanvir Ahmed Siddiqui BNP
Former BNP Standing Committee member Chowdhury Tanvir Ahmed Siddiqui Courtesy

Alamgir Kabir, Shahidul Haque Jamal, Abu Yusuf, and Mafiqul Hasan Tripti are known as 'reformists' for their role in the 1/11 government in 2007

BNP has withdrawn the expulsion order against former Standing Committee member and minister Chowdhury Tanvir Ahmed Siddiqui, as well as seven other reformist and dissident leaders.

The party has also restored the membership of former Chandpur MP and district BNP president SA Sultan Titu, who resigned from the party a few years ago.

BNP Senior Joint Secretary General Ruhul Kabir Rizvi announced the withdrawal of the expulsion orders during a press briefing at BNP's central office in Dhaka’s Naya Paltan on Monday.

The expulsion orders were rescinded following applications made by the outgoing leaders to BNP acting chairman Tarique Rahman.

The seven other leaders are former BNP minister and education affairs secretary Alamgir Kabir, former whip and party chairperson's adviser Shahidul Haque Jamal, former whip and party Executive Committee member Abu Yusuf Mohammad Khalilur Rahman, ex-office secretary of the party Mafiqul Hasan Tripti, former president of Tangail's Basail upazila unit BNP Enamul Karim Atol, former president of Chandpur's Faridganj upazila unit BNP Abdul Mannan, and former joint general secretary of Feni's Sonagazi upazila unit BNP Habib Ullah Parvej.

Among them, Alamgir Kabir, Shahidul Haque Jamal, Abu Yusuf, and Mafiqul Hasan Tripti are known as “reformists” for their role in the 1/11 government in 2007.

The politicians were expelled from BNP as they, together with party's then-secretary general Abdul Manna Bhuiyan, took position against the party and sought major reforms.

Earlier, on October 25, BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir held a meeting with 12 “reformist” ex-MPs at the party chairperson's Gulshan office, with the aim of taking them back into the party to strengthen it ahead of the general election.

In 2011, Chowdhury Tanvir Ahmed Siddiqui was expelled from BNP after one of his sons made derogatory remarks about party chairperson Khaleda Zia.

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail