• Friday, Sep 25, 2020
  • Last Update : 10:18 am

16 Jatiya Oikya Front leaders will attend talks with Awami League

  • Published at 05:50 pm October 30th, 2018
Jatiya Oikya Front leaders leaving the chamber of eminent lawyer Dr Kamal Hossain at Dhaka’s Motijheel after holding a meeting on Tuesday, October 30, 2018 Focus Bangla

The dialogue will take place at Ganabhaban on Thursday

A 16-member Jatiya Oikya Front delegation led by Gono Forum President Dr Kamal Hossain will attend the much anticipated dialogue with the ruling Awami League on Thursday.

The decision was taken at a meeting held at eminent lawyer Dr Kamal’s chamber in the Motijheel area of Dhaka on Tuesday evening.

"We have warmly accepted the prime minister's invitation and we will go to Ganabhaban at 7pm on Thursday,” Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD-Rab) President ASM Abdur Rab told reporters after the meeting. “Dr Kamal Hossain and 15 other leaders will attend the dialogue.”

Rab said the Jatiya Oikya Front delegation will include three other leaders from his party as well as five from BNP, and two each from Nagorik Oikya, Gono Forum, and Jatiya Oikya Prokriya.

“The nation hopes that the dialogue will help resolve political problems,” Abur Rab said. “The delegation will discuss Oikya Front's seven demands and all other issues at the dialogue with the prime minister.” 

Rab further said that he has been made the spokesman of the newly formed political alliance.

The five BNP leaders to attend are Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain, Moudud Ahmed, Jamiruddin Sircar and Mirza Abbas.

Also read- PM to hold talks with Jatiya Oikya Front Thursday

The other coalition leaders who will join the talks are Mahmudur Rahman Manna and SM Akram of Nagorik Oikya, Mostofa Mohsin Montu and Subrata Chowdhury of Gono Forum, Abdul Malek Ratan and Tania Rab of JSD-Rab, Sultan Md Monsur and ABM Mostofa Amin of Oikya Prokriya, and Gonoshashthaya Kendra Founder Dr Zafrullah Chowdhury.

Later, around 8:30pm yesterday, a three-member Oikya Front delegation, comprised of Gono Forum's Jaglul Haider and Mostak Ahmed, and Nagorik Oikya's Mominul Islam, delivered the list of delegation members to the Awami League president's Dhanmondi political office.

“Awami League Joint General Secretary Abdur Rahman received the list,” Mostak told UNB.

BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul and Standing Committee members Mosharraf and Moudud, Abdur Rab, Tania, Ratan, Montu, Subrata, Manna, Monsur and Zafrullah were among others who had attended Tuesday’s meeting at Dr Kamal’s chamber. 

Earlier in the day, Awami League Office Secretary Abdus Sobhan Golap handed over the prime minister’s invitation letter for the meeting to Dr Kamal at his house at around 8am.

The formal invitation came a day after the ruling party announced that it would sit with Oikya Front.

Kamal had written to the prime minister on Sunday, urging her to sit and discuss various issues regarding the 11th general election with them “in order to reach a political consensus for a free and fair election”.

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail