• Monday, Mar 25, 2019
  • Last Update : 01:26 am

Chhatra League gets new president, secretary

  • Published at 11:37 pm July 31st, 2018
Bangladesh Chhatra League's New President Rejwanul Haque Choudhury Shovon and General Secretary Golam Rabbani Collected

Sheikh Hasina has also selected the new leaderships for several other key units

Prime Minister and Awami League chief Sheikh Hasina has selected the new central leadership of Bangladesh Chhatra League for the next two years.

Rejwanul Haque Choudhury Shovon has been made the new Chhatra League president and Golam Rabbani the general secretary, according to a press release issued on Tuesday night.

The announcement, formally made by Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader, comes nearly two months after the ruling party student wing’s National Council, which was originally supposed to select the new leaderships.

The council was held in May, three years after the previous one which had taken place four years after the one before.

The Saifur Rahman Sohag and SM Jakir Hossain-led 28th central working committee had expired on July 26 last year.

Many Chhatra League leaders had described the delay as a violation of the organization’s charter, which stipulates that the central committee’s tenure will be two years.

Sheikh Hasina, by the power vested in her as the ruling party president, on Tuesday also selected Sonjit Chandra Das and Md Saddam Hussain as the new president and general secretary, respectively, of Chhatra League’s Dhaka University (DU) unit.

Md Ibrahim and Saidur Rahman Hridoy were made the new president and secretary, respectively, of Dhaka metropolitan (north) unit.

Mehedi Hasan and Md Jobayer Ahmed were selected as the new president and secretary, respectively, of Dhaka metropolitan (south) unit.

Shovon and Rabbani are former students of DU’s Law Department. However, Sonjit is still doing his master’s and Saddam is a final-year student in the same department.

Chhatra League’s founder Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman was also a student of this department.

Shovon was a member of the previous Chhatra League central executive committee and Rabbani was the education and study circle affairs secretary.

Also, Sonjit was the president of Chhatra League’s Jagannath Hall unit and Saddam was the deputy law affairs secretary of the central committee.