• Saturday, Jan 18, 2020
  • Last Update : 11:15 pm

Chittagong city BNP gets full-fledged committee after 20yrs

  • Published at 10:52 am July 11th, 2017

After a gap of 20 years, the Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) has announced its full-fledged committee of Chittagong city chapter. As per the party constitution, the committee should comprise of 151 but the new full-fledged committee has 275 members. BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir fomally announced the full-fledged committee which was approved by BNP Chairperson Khaleda Zia on Monday. Abul Hashem Bakkar, secretary of Chittagong city chapter of BNP, confirmed the matter to the Dhaka Tribune. Speaking about breaching the party constitution, BNP’s Chittagong Division Organising Secretary Mahbuber Rahman Shamim said: “The 275-member committee was announced to accommodate the activists and leaders who were deprived of their berths for a long time.” On August 6, 2016, the Chittagong city chapter was reconstituted where Dr Shahadat Hossain, Abu Sufian and Abul Hashem Bakkar were made president, vice-president and general secretary respectively. Amir Khasru Mahmud Chowdhury who was the president in the previous Chittagong city chapter got a berth in the party standing committee member. Dr Shahadat Hossain was the general secretary of the previous BNP committee of Chittagong city chapter.