• Monday, Oct 15, 2018
  • Last Update : 11:18 pm

AL central working committee names declared

  • Published at 12:47 pm October 25th, 2016
  • Last updated at 06:51 pm October 25th, 2016
AL central working committee names declared
A day after the country's oldest organisation re-elected Sheikh Hasina its president and chose Obaidul Quader as the general secretary in Awami League's 20th national council, Obaidul Quader announced the inclusion of the new faces. Sheikh Hasina was re-elected the president of Awami League for the eighth consecutive terms while Obaidul Quader succeeded Syed Ashrarul Islam who served as the party's general secretary for two consecutive terms. Sheikh Hasina announced the names of the Presidium members and joint secretaries at the council. At a press conference at the party's Dhanmondi office in the morning, Obaidul announced the names of those included in the central working committee as secretaries. The committee got two new faces as organising secretary in Enamul Haque Shamim, a former president of Chhatra League, and barrister Mohibul Hasan Chowdhury Naufel, son of Awami League leader and former Chittagong city mayor ABM Mohiuddin Chowdhury. Tipu Munshi was made the finance and planning secretary, Abdul Matin Khasru the law secretary, Afzal Hossain the information and research secretary, Sujit Roy Nandi the relief and social welfare secretary, Abdus Sobhan Golap the office secretary, Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah the religious secretary, Dr Hasan Mahmud the publicity and publication secretary,  Fazilatunnessa Indira the women affairs secretary, Mrinal Kanti Das the Liberation War affairs secretary, Shamsunnahar Nipa the education and human resources secretary, Mohammad Abdus Sattar the industries and trade secretary, Habibur Rahman Siraj the labour and manpower secretary (for the fourth time), Asim Kumar Ukil the cultural secretary and Rokeya Sultana the health secretary. The other organising secretaries are Ahmed Hossain, Misbahuddin Siraj, BM Mojammel Haque, AFM Bahauddin Nasim, Abu Sayeed Al Mahmud Swapan and Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury. HN Ashequr Rahman was re-elected as the treasurer. The remaining two posts – international affairs and forest and environment secretaries – would be announced in a day or two, Obaidul said. He also said the next Presidium meeting – to be held on Friday – would decide on the vacant posts of the 83-strong committee. Apart from Hasina, Obaidul and Ashraf, the other members of the Presidium are Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury, Matia Chowdhury, Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim, Mohammad Nasim, Kazi Zafarulla, Sahara Khatun, Mosharraf Hossain, Nurul Islam Nahid, Abdur Razzak, Faruk Khan, Abdul Mannan Khan, Ramesh Chandra Sen and Pijush Bhattacharya. Three posts of the 19-member Presidium are still lying vacant. The new central working committee started its journey by paying respect to the Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman at 4pm at 32 Dhanmondi.