• Thursday, Jan 23, 2020
  • Last Update : 12:49 am

21 awarded with Ekushey Padak 2019

  • Published at 07:52 pm February 6th, 2019
web_Ekushey Padak
File photo of Ekushey Padak Courtesy

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will present the awards at an event on February 20

Twenty-one eminent personalities will get the country's second-highest civilian award, Ekushey Padak, this year in recognition of their contributions to various fields.

The Cultural Affairs Ministry announced the names of the recipients on Wednesday.

Prof Halima Khatun (posthumous), Advocate Golam Arif Tipu and Prof Monowara Islam have been selected for their roles in the 1952 Language Movement. 

Subir Nandi, Azam Khan (posthumous) and Khairul Anam Shakil are being recognized for their contributions to music, while Lucky Enam, Suborna Mustafa and Liaquat Ali Lucky for performing arts. 

Sayeda Khanam and Jamal Uddin Ahmed have been chosen for their contributions to photography and fine arts respectively, while Khitindra Chandra Baishya is getting the award for his role in the 1971 Liberation War. 

Dr Biswajit Ghosh and Dr Mahbubul Haque have been picked for the award for their research, while Dr Pranab Kumar Barua is being awarded for his contribution to education.

Rizia Rahman, Imdadul Haq Milon, Ashim Saha, Anwara Syed Haq, Mainul Ahsan Saber and Harishankar Jaladas are getting the award for contributing to language and literature.

Each recipient will get a gold medal, a certificate and a cheque for Tk2 lakh.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will hand over the Ekushey Padak to the awardees at a ceremony at the Bangabandhu International Conference Centre on February 20.

Winners of Ekushey Padak 2018

Last year, the recipients of Ekushey Padak were:

AZM Takiullah(posthumous) and Prof Dr Mirza Mazharul Islam for their role in the Language Movement, while Sheikh Sadi Khan, Sujoy Sham, Indra Mohan Rajbanshi, Khurshid Alam, and Motiul Haque Khan won the award for music.

Minu Haque and Humayun Faridi (posthumous) got the award for dance and acting, respectively, while Nikhil Sen, Kalidas Karmakar, and Golam Mostofa for drama, fine arts, and photography.

Ranesh Moitro and Professor Julekha Haque (posthumous) and Dr Mainul Islam won the award for journalism, research, and economics, respectively, while the government announced the name of Ilias Kanchan for social work.

Syed Manzoorul Islam, Saiful Islam Khan (poet Hayat Saef), Subrata Barua, Robiul Hussain, and Khalekdad Chowdhury received the award for language and literature.

Winners of Ekushey Padak 2017

Those who won the award in 2017 were:

Poets Omar Ali (posthumously) and Sukumar Barua for language and literature; Tanvir Mokammel for film; Sara Zaker for acting; Dr Zamilur Reza Choudhury for science and technology; Professor Dr Sharifa Khatun for her role in the Language Movement; Shushama Das, Julhas Uddin Ahmed, Rahmatullah Al Mahmud Selim and Ustad Ajijul Islam for music; Syed Abdullah Khalid for sculpture; Abul Momen and Swadesh Roy for journalism; Syed Akram Hossain for research; Prof Emeritus Dr Alamgir Mohammad Sirajuddin in Education; Prof Dr Mahmud Hasan in Social Welfare; and Shamim Ara Nipa in choreography.