• Monday, Jan 20, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:04 pm

BNP’s Bogra 6 MP-elect GM Siraj takes oath

  • Published at 07:19 pm July 11th, 2019
web-GM Siraj
BNP MP-elect Golam Mohammad Siraj Dhaka Tribune

Previously the constituency was declared vacant as BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir did not take oath as MP

BNP MP-elect, Golam Mohammad Sira,j took oath of office as MP for the 11th parliament on Thursday.

Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury conducted the swearing-in at the Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban, said a press release.

Siraj was elected MP in the Bogura-6 constituency by-polls, reports BSS.

Deputy Speaker Md Fazle Rabbi Miah, Chief Whip Noor-E-Alam Chowdhury Liton, Whips Iqbalur Rahim and Abu Sayeed Al Mahmud Swapon, Chairman of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on the Ministry of Disaster Management and Relief, BM Tajul Islam, MPs Harunur Rashid, Aminul Islam, Mosharraf Hossain, Zahidur Rahman Zahid, and Rumeen Farhana, were present.

Senior Secretary of the Jatiya Sangsad Secretariat, Dr Zafar Ahmed Khan, conducted the oath taking ceremony.

Bogra-6 constituency was earlier declared vacant, where BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir had won the election, butdid not take oath of office as MP within the stipulated 90 days from the date of the first meeting of parliament.