• Monday, Aug 19, 2019
  • Last Update : 12:46 am

Nusrat, firefighter Sohel, Zayan named as JS session commences with condolences

  • Published at 08:59 pm April 24th, 2019
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, members of the parliament pray druing a munajat conducted by Deputy Speaker Fazle Rabbi Miah, at the Parliament Buiding, on Wednesday, April 24, 2019 Focus Bangla

1 minute silence has been observed to pay respect to the memories of the deceased

Parliament has unanimously adopted an expanded condolence motion at its session that included some ordinary citizens who fell victims to tragedy or atrocity, alongside the usual list of recently deceased former ministers, MPs, bureaucrats, eminent citizens and employees of the Parliament Secretariat.

Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, MP, moved the condolence motion in the House at the beginning of the 2nd session of the current parliament on Wednesday, reports UNB.

The individuals whose names were read out by the speaker to condole their deaths were former minister and MP Sheikh Abdul Aziz, former MPs Abu Saleh Mohammad Sayeed Dulal, Monzur Ahmed, Tajul Islam Mohammad Faruq, Arzu Mand Banu, Rahima Akter, M Aktaruzzman, joint secretary of the Parliament Secretariat Moshtaq Ahmad Parliament Secretariat employee Wali Ullah.

The parliament also expressed shock at the death of Zayan Chowdhury, grandson of Parliamentary Standing Committee chairman on Health Ministry and Awami League Presidium member Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim, student of Islamia Senior Madrassa of Feni Nusrat Jahan Rafi and fire fighter Sohel Rana, who died in the Banani FR Tower fire incident while performing his duty.

The House also adopted a condolence motion at the death of former adviser to the caretaker government ASM Shahjahan; M Abdul Khaleq Sheikh, father of Housing and Public Works minister; Jahanara Begum, wife of Dr Mozammel Hossain, MP; Lutfunnesa, wife of Shamshul Huq TukuMP; Rashid Suhrawardy, son of Hussain Shaheed Suhrawardy; Rawshan Ara Begum, mother of M Shahiduzzaman Sarker MP; advocate Mahbubul Huq, husband of former MP Dilara Begum; Polan Sarker; PIB DG and senior journalist Shah Alamgir; eminent poet Al Mahmud; eminent singer Shahnaz Rahmatullah and famous comedian Tele Samad. 

The house also expressed deep shock at the loss of lives in a series of bomb attacks in Sri Lanka, Banani FR Tower fire incident, terrorist attack in Christ Church in New Zealand, and plane crash in Ethiopia.

A munajat seeking eternal peace of the departed souls was offered in the House conducted by Deputy Speaker Fazle Rabbi Miah.

The members of the House also stood and observed a one-minute solemn silence to pay respect to the memories of the deceased.