• Monday, Nov 18, 2019
  • Last Update : 07:22 pm

49 reserved seat candidates elected unopposed

  • Published at 10:43 pm February 16th, 2019
web-File photo of the session room inside the Bangladesh Parliament <b>Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune</b>
File photo of the session room inside the Bangladesh Parliament Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune

‘The gazette will be issued after announcing the official results on Sunday’

The Election Commission has declared 49 candidates elected unopposed for the parliamentary seats reserved for women.

Returning Officer Abul Kasem announced the result on Sunday at the Election Commission's media center in Agargaon on Sunday.

According to the commission, as many as 43 Awami League candidates submitted nomination papers for 50 reserved seats in the 11th parliament.

He said: “List of the names of the MPs-elect will be sent to BG Press by today. And gazette notification will be published by today or tomorrow in this regard.”

Four aspirants from Jatiya Party and one from Workers’ Party of Bangladesh also submitted their nomination papers.

The reserved seats for women are allocated to political parties in proportion to their number of seats in parliament.

Accordingly, 43 seats are allocated to Awami League, four to Jatiya Party, one each to BNP, Workers’ Party, and independent candidates.

BNP did not file any nomination papers as its MPs elect are yet to take the oath of office.

On February 3, the Election Commission announced the election schedule for the reserved seats to be held on March 4.

Article 65 of the Constitution says that the 50 reserved seats exclusively for women members, will be elected by the MPs.

Only MPs who took their oath of office are allowed to vote in the election for the women’s reserved seats.