• Wednesday, Nov 20, 2019
  • Last Update : 11:31 pm

Maiden session of the 11th parliament kicks off

  • Published at 05:44 pm January 30th, 2019
The interior of Bangladesh national parliament Focus Bangla

Eight MPs-elect will not be attending the first session started at 3pm as they are yet to take the oath

The maiden session of the 11th parliament begins on Wednesday, within 31 days of the national election held on December 30 with participation of all the registered political parties.

President Abdul Hamid convened the session on January 9 exercising his power bestowed upon him by article 72 (1) of the Constitution.

Earlier, Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury was elected as the speaker for the third time. Fazle Rabbi Miah has also returned to perform the duties of the deputy speaker.

Noor-E-Alam Chowdhury from Madaripur-1 was elected as the chief whip. Atiur Rahman Atik from Sherpur-1, Iqbalur Rahim from Dinajpur-3, Mahabub Ara Begum Gini from Gaibandha-2, Panchanan Biswas from Khulna-1, Abu Sayeed Al Mahmood Swapon from Jaipurhat-2 and Shamsul Hoque Chowdhury of Chattogram-12 were elected as whips of the ruling party..

Eight MPs-elect from Jatiya Oikya Front, six from BNP, and two from Gono Forum will not be attending the first session started at 3pm as they are yet to take the oath.

Also Read- Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury re-elected speaker for third time

HM Ershad has been selected as the leader of the opposition, replacing Raushon Ershad. GM Quader, co-chairman of Jatiya Party and Ershad's younger brother, is deputy leader and Moshiur Rahman Ranga has been elected as chief whip of the opposition. 

The five-year tenure of the 10th parliament expired on Monday as its first session was held on January 29, 2014 after the 10th general election held on January 5, 2014.

Awami League won an absolute majority bagging 258 seats in the recent election. Jatiya Party won 22 seats to become the opposition party.