• Saturday, Feb 29, 2020
  • Last Update : 12:45 am

First session of 11th parliament from January 30

  • Published at 06:52 pm January 9th, 2019
web-File photo of the session room inside the Bangladesh Parliament <b>Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune</b>
File photo of the session room inside the Bangladesh Parliament Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune

A new speaker and deputy speaker will be elected during the first session

The first session of the 11th Jatiya Sangsad will begin at 3pm on January 30, just within a month of the general election that saw participation of all registered political parties.

President Md Abdul Hamid on Wednesday convened the session exercising the power bestowed upon him as per Article 72 (1) of the constitution, according to a statement from the Parliament Secretariat.

The president will deliver his speech on the first day of the session, which will be the first of 2019, it added.

According to the parliament’s rules of procedure, a new speaker and deputy speaker will be elected during the first session.

The duration and proceedings of the first session will also be finalized at a meeting of the Business Advisory Committee of the parliament with Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury in the chair that day.

Meanwhile, the Parliament Secretariat on Wednesday also issued a gazette announcing Jatiya Party (JaPa) Chairman as the Leader of the Opposition in the House and JaPa Co-Chairman GM Quader as the Deputy Leader of the Opposition, reports Bangla Tribune.

Last week, Ershad had announced that JaPa would be the main opposition in the new parliament and he would lead JaPa as the opposition leader.

He also announced that his brother Quader would be the deputy leader of the opposition. The JaPa had written to the speaker in this regard as well.

The Awami League returned to power for the third consecutive term, securing 257 out of the 298 seats where voting for the 11th general election was held on December 30.

The ruling party-led Grand Alliancein total had secured an absolute majority with 288 seats, of which 22 were JaPa’s.

BNP and Gono Forum, which contested the polls as part of political platform Jatiya Oikya Front, managed to win only five and two seats, respectively.

10th parliament

The five-year tenure of the outgoing 10th parliament will expire on January 28 as its first sitting was held on January 29, 2014 — 24 days after the 10th general election was held.

The 10th parliament during its current tenure sat 23 times that witnessed 410 business days. Some 198 bills were placed and 193 of them were passed.

The opposition did not boycott parliament, but they staged walkout three times while the Leader of the Opposition, Senior Co-ChairmanRaushan Ershad, was present in the House for 242 days.

Leader of the House and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina was present in the 10th Parliament for 338 days.

The last session (23rd) of the 10th parliament was prorogued on October 29 last year.