• Thursday, Jan 28, 2021
  • Last Update : 02:11 am

CCC polls: Campaign kicks off in full force

  • Published at 10:48 am January 9th, 2021
File photo: A polling officer assists a voter to sign up for biometric features at the Dhaka Residential Model School & College on Sunday; December 30, 2018 Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune

This time 1,951,052 voters will exercise their voting rights

Mayoral and councilor aspirants have launched the electoral campaign from Friday for the upcoming Chittagong City Corporation (CCC) elections billed for January 27.

Previously on March 21, the Election Commission (EC) postponed the polls slated for March 29.

This time seven mayoral candidates including Awami League-nominated Rezaul Karim Chowdhury, BNP-backed Dr Shahadat Hossain, MA Matin backed by Bangladesh Islamic Front, Abul Manjur backed by National People’s Party, Wahed Murad backed by Islamic Front Bangladesh and Jannatul Islam backed by Islami Andolon Bangladesh have entered the fray.

Also, 172 councilor candidates for 40 general wards and 57 councilors for the reserved seats for women have joined the electoral race.

This time 1,951,052 voters will exercise their voting rights. 

Also read: Awami League takes lead in first phase of municipality elections

AL-backed candidate Rezaul Karim Chowdhury began his electoral campaign from Dakshin Pahartali Ward after offering Jummah prayers at Bahhader Bari Jame Masjid.

During the electioneering, the AL-backed mayoral candidate pledged the voters of turning Chittagong into a smart city.

He also pledged to continue the ongoing development work in the port city.

Rezaul Karim Chowdhury was accompanied by Awami League city unit’s President Mahtab Uddin, and Secretary and immediate past mayor AJM Nasir Uddin, Organizing Secretary Noman Al Mahmud, Legal Affairs Secretary Iftekhar Shimul Chowdhury and other senior leaders.

Meanwhile, Awami League’s associate body Jubo League also launched an electoral campaign through distributing leaflets among the voters in the city.

The leaders of the youth organization began the campaign from Jamiatul Falah Masjid in the city.

On the other hand, BNP-backed mayoral candidate Dr Shahadat Hossain began his electioneering from Shah Amanat Mazar in the city.

While talking to the newsmen, Dr Shahadat urged the EC and the administration to hold the polls in a free, impartial and competitive manner.   

Later, the BNP-backed mayoral candidate talked to the public at Patharghata, Anderkillah and Firingibazar wards of the city.

Dr Shahadat was accompanied by BNP Central Organizing Secretary Mahbuber Rahman Shamim, city BNP Secretary Abul Hashem, Convener of south district chapter Abu Sufian and other senior leaders.

Chittagong Civil Surgeon Dr Sheikh Fazle Rabbi urged all the candidates to abide by health guidelines amid the coronavirus situation.

Awami League's Chittagong unit Vice-President Khorshed Alam Sujon took charge as the administrator of the Chittagong City Corporation on August 6, 2020. His tenure as the administrator will expire on February 5.

Facebook 54
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail