• Monday, Sep 27, 2021
  • Last Update : 08:04 pm

Voting underway in Pabna 4 by-polls amid BNP candidate boycott

  • Published at 02:16 pm September 26th, 2020
Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) nominated candidate Habibur Rahman Habib for Pabna 4 concurrency boycotts the by-polls during a press conference at his home in Shahapur village of Ishwardi upazila around 12:30 pm on Saturday Dhaka Tribune

Habibur and his political associates are abstaining from voting and demand its immediate cancellation

Citing various irregularities, Habibur Rahman Habib, the BNP nominated candidate for Pabna 4 constituency has boycotted the by-polls and demanded an immediately cancellation of the voting that commenced at 9am Saturday, set to continue till 5pm without any break.

“Chief Election Commissioner had promised fair elections in Pabna but this is not the reality. It is never possible to have a fair election during the reign of Awami League government,” said Habibur Rahman during a press conference at his home in Shahapur village of Ishwardi upazila around 12:30 pm on Saturday.

Habibur and his political associates are abstaining from voting and demand its immediate cancellation. 

Meanwhile, voting started in 129 centres of the constituency with a total of 381,112 voters eligible to exercise their franchise, said Abdul Latif Sheikh, district returning officer.

A number of 2,301 presiding officers are on election duty, he added.

The Election Commission said they took the highest precautionary measures to arrange a smooth voting experience.

Some 18 executive and two judicial magistrates, and eight platoons of BGB, RAB and police are tasked with holding the elections peacefully.

Abdul Latif further said maximum precautionary measures had been taken to avoid any kind of untoward incidents centring the vote.

The constituency fell vacant after the death of Shamsur Rahman Sharif Dilu, former land minister and the member of parliament of the constituency.

Subsequently, the Election Commission announced the schedule of the by-elections.

Now, with Habibur Rahman Habib out of the election, Awami League’s three-time elected chairman of Ishwardi upazila Nuruzzaman Biswas, and Jatiya Party’s Rezaul Karim are contesting the by-polls.

The Pabna 4 constituency consists of two upazilas (Ishwardi and Atgharia), two municipalities and 12 unions.

Facebook 83
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail