• Tuesday, Jan 26, 2021
  • Last Update : 01:34 am

Khorshed Alam takes charge as new CCC administrator

  • Published at 03:41 pm August 6th, 2020
Mohammed Khorshed Alam Sujon <strong>Collected</strong>
Mohammed Khorshed Alam Sujon Collected

Khorshed Alam takes charge as new CCC administrator

Awami League’s Chittagong unit Vice-President Khorshed Alam Sujon has the charge as the new administrator of Chittagong City Corporation (CCC).

CCC officials and employees welcomed the new administrator without any ceremony when he reached atthe CCC Tigerpass Office at 10am Thursday.

The tenure of the elected body of Chittagong City Corporation (CCC) expired on Wednesday.

The outgoing mayor AJM Nasir Uddin also greeted the new administrator at that time.

Later, the new administrators held a view exchange meeting with the departmental heads of the corporation.  

He voiced a strong anti-corruption warning to the corporation staffers of CCC. Khorshed said he would like to discharge his duties with utmost sincerity and honesty.  

Khorshed also said he would try his level best to turn Chittagong into a habitable city.

The LGRD Ministry made the appointment on Tuesday as per the LGRD Act 2009.

Earlier, the Election Commission (EC) postponed the CCC polls which was scheduled to be held on March 29, due to the coronavirus outbreak.

Also Read- Khorshed Alam appointed as new CCC administrator

Chittagong City Awami League Senior Joint General Secretary M Rezaul Karim Chowdhury is going to contest this year's election after getting Awami League nomination in place of Nasir.

On the other hand, Shahadat Hossain, president of the BNP’s city committee, was nominated to run for the CCC election.

On August 6, 2015, Nasir took charge as the CCC mayor after winning the elction.

Chittagong Municipality was declared a city corporation in 1990 with Mahmudul Islam Chowdhury appointed the first mayor by the government followed by Mir Mohammad Nasiruddin.

In 1994, Awami League leader ABM Mohiuddin Chowdhury became the first elected city mayor. He was re-elected in 2000 and in 2005.

Later, BNP's Manjur Alam Manju won the mayoral race in 2010, defeating Mohiuddin.

After his term, the mayoral post went back to Awami League  AJM Nasir won the polls on April 28, 2015.

According to the Local Government (City Corporation) Act 2009, the election to any city corporation should be held within the last 180 days of its five-year tenure that starts with the first meeting of the corporation.

Facebook 54
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail