• Wednesday, Jan 22, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:18 pm

2 probe committees formed over Chittagong gas pipeline blast

  • Published at 03:40 pm November 17th, 2019
web-chittagong gas pipeline

The explosion occurred due to a leakage in the gas riser

Two probe committees have been formed over the gas pipeline explosion in Chittagong's Patharghata area, which left seven people dead and at least fifteen others injured.

The committees were formed by Chittagong District Administration and Chittagong Metropolitan Police on Sunday.

Chittagong Deputy Commissioner Md Ilias Hossain said: "A five member committee has been formed, with Chittagong Additional District Magistrate (ADM) AZM Shariful Islam as head. The committee will submit the report within seven working days."

The other members of the committee includes the officer-in-charge of Kotwali police station, a member of Chittagong Fire Service, an employee of Karnaphuli Gas  Distribution Company and a representative of the city corporation.

Police has formed a three member committee with Chittagong Metropolitan Police (CMP) Deputy Commissioner (South) Mehedi Hasan as head.

The other members of the committee are CMP's Additional Deputy Commissioner (ADC) Manjur Morshed and Assistant Commissioner (Kotwali zone) Nobel Chakma. The committee has been asked to submit the report as soon as possible.

Earlier on the day, seven people were killed and at least 15 others were injured after a gas pipeline exploded in a house in Chittagong’s Patharghata area, causing its walls to collapse.

The five-storey house named Barua Bhaban was situated on Brickfield road. The explosion occurred on the ground floor due to a leakage in the gas riser.

Till now four deceased have been identified. They are Nurul Islam, 30, Annie Barua, 40, Julekha Farzana, 30 and Julekha’s son Atiqur Rahman Shuvo, 8.