• Tuesday, Oct 19, 2021
  • Last Update : 06:16 pm

Freedom fighter’s grandson gets arm broken, labelled Shibir

  • Published at 12:27 am March 10th, 2019
Web_MBSTU-student’s arm-Chhatra-League
Photo of victim Fahim, first year student of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology department of Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University Dhaka Tribune

Proctor Dr Md Sirajul Islam said six students have been temporarily suspended and banned from the campus for seven days, and issued a show-cause notice

Abdullah Al Numan, Tangail

A group of Bangladesh Chhatra League members have broken the arm of a student at Maulana Bhasani Science and Technology University and labeled him a Chhatra Shibir member as part of a “rag”.

According to university authorities and witnesses, Fahim, a freshmen student at the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, was called to a room on the second floor of Abdul Mannan Hall on Friday night by BCL MBSTU unit Organizing Secretary Sayem.

When Fahim went there, he, along with two others named Shuvo and Rana, were thrashed mercilessly by the Chhatra League members.

Fahim had his arm broken by a cricket stump.

When contacted, BCL MBSTU unit General Secretary Saidur Rahman said he thought Fahim was involved with Islami Chhatra Shibir, the student wing of the banned Jamaat Islami party.

However, Fahim was revealed to be the grandson of a freedom fighter from Narsingdi.

After the incident came to light, student and teachers alike protested outside the administration building.

Punitive measures

Proctor Dr Md Sirajul Islam said six students have been temporarily suspended and banned from the campus for seven days, and issued a show-cause notice.

The proctor said the punishment can be increased or decreased depending on a pending investigation.

He said the punishment was agreed on by members of the proctorial body, all the deans and provosts, and all the teachers from the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.

The suspended students have been named as: Sayem Ali Sunny, SM Rashedul Islam, Zillur Rahman, Abu Hena Mostofa Kamal, Atikuzzaman, and Aninda Roy.

Facebook 51
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail