• Wednesday, Oct 27, 2021
  • Last Update : 04:16 am

PM Hasina pays homage to Bangabandhu, 4 national leaders

  • Published at 10:48 am November 3rd, 2018
Prime Minister and Awami League chief Sheikh Hasina and other senior leaders of her party place wreaths on the mural of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman at the Bangabandhu Memorial Museum at Dhanmondi Road No 32 in Dhaka on November 3, 2018, observing the Jail Killing Day PID

The four national leaders were killed at the Dhaka Central Jail on this day in 1975

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has paid tributes to Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman and four national leaders — Tajuddin Ahmed, Syed Nazrul Islam, Captain Monsur Ali, and AHM Kamaruzzaman — marking Jail Killing Day.

The four leaders, who had led the Liberation War in Bangabandhu’s absence, were imprisoned shortly after the nation’s founding father was assassinated – along with most of his family – on August 15, 1975. The Liberation War heroes were murdered inside the Dhaka Central Jail in November of the same year.

Prime Minister Hasina placed wreaths at Bangabandhu’s portrait in front of the Bangabandhu Memorial Museum at Dhanmondi Road No 32 on Saturday morning, reports BSS.

She first laid a wreath, as prime minister, around 7am and stood in solemn silence for some time as a mark of respect to the memories of the national leaders.

Then, flanked by central leaders of the party, she later placed another wreath, as the president of Awami League, at the portrait of Bangabandhu.

Awami League Advisory Council Members Amir Hossain Amu, Tofail Ahmed and Advocate Yusuf Hossain Humayun; Presidium Members Begum Matia Chowdhury, Mohammad Nasim, Advocate Sahara Khatun, Dr Abdur Razzak and Abdul Matin Khasru; General Secretary Obaidul Quader; Joint Secretaries Mahbubul Alam Hanif and Jahangir Kabir Nanak; Organizing Secretaries AFM Bahauddin Nasim and Enamul Haque Shamim; Office Secretary Dr Abdus Sobhan Golap; Cultural Affairs Secretary Ashim Kumar Ukil; and other central leaders of the party were present.

Later, the leaders and activists of Awami League’s associate bodies, including: Jubo League, Chhatra League, Mohila Awami League, Sramik League, Krishak League, Jubo Mohila League, and Swechchhasebok League, as well as other socio-cultural organizations, also paid homage to Bangabandhu and the four national leaders.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail