• Thursday, May 28, 2020
  • Last Update : 09:28 pm

Chhatra League factions clash over new committee at Ctg College

  • Published at 07:19 pm September 18th, 2018
The aggrieved Chhatra League leaders, and their followers barricade the college road at Chalkbazar area in Chittagong with burning tires on Tuesday, September 18, 2018 Focus Bangla News

The Chhatra League leaders, who failed to secure committee positions, were identified as the followers of the Mayor and Awami League Secretary of Chittagong AJM Nasir Uddin

Two factions of Chittagong College unit of Bangladesh Chhatra League (BCL), the student wing of ruling party Awami League, engaged in a clash over the newly made committee.  

The new committee at Chittagong College was made after a long gap of three decades, on Monday night.

The Chhatra League leaders, who were deprived of positions in the committee, and their followers, vandalized a few vehicles and blasted three crude bombs on Tuesday.

According to witnesses and the police, the clash erupted when the enraged leaders and their followers put up a barricade on the college road. They chased away another faction of Chhatra League leaders- who had secured committee positions- when they tried to enter the campus.

Later, the leaders who were chased away gave counter-chase to the position-deprived leaders.

The Chhatra League leaders, who failed to secure committee positions, were identified as the followers of the Mayor and Awami League Secretary of Chittagong AJM Nasir Uddin.

To push forward their demands for scrapping the fresh committee, they barricaded the college road for more than two hours until 12:30pm.

The deprived leaders alleged that dedicated activists, involved with anti-Shibir movements, failed to achieve positions in the fresh committee.

Earlier on Monday, Mahmudul Karim and Subhash Mallick were made president and secretary, respectively, of the new committee of the Chittagong College unit of Chhatra League.

Chittagong Chhatra League city President Imran Ahmed Imu and Acting Secretary Md Zakaria approved the new committee, which comprises of 25 functionaries.

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail