• Sunday, Aug 09, 2020
  • Last Update : 11:47 am

Satkhira Jubo League factions clash at Independence Day program, 18 injured

  • Published at 12:48 am March 27th, 2018
Satkhira Jubo League factions clash at Independence Day program, 18 injured
At least 18 people, including the president of Awami League’s Satkhira district unit, have been injured in a clash between two factions of Awami Jubo League during a ruling party-organized program marking the Independence Day in Satkhira. The fight took place at the town’s Shaheed Alauddin Chattar, adjacent to the New Market, around 5pm on Monday, according to witnesses and police. Many of the injured were admitted to Satkhira Medical College Hospital. Several of them were in critical condition. The 18 injured include district Awami League chief and former MP Monsur Ahmed, district Jubo League activist Mir Mohitul Alam, Bangladesh Chhatra League district unit’s General Secretary Sadiqur Rahman and former president Kazi Aktar Hossain, Tanti League district unit President Mir Shahin, Jubo League leaders Milon Hosain, Babu and Chhatra League leader Towkir. Satkhira Sadar police OC Maruf Ahmed said they were not informed about the program of the ruling party and its affiliated organizations. He said the brawling started when a Judo League procession led by district unit Convener Abdul Mannan was passing by Awami League’s meeting at Alauddin Chattar. “However, police reached the scene quickly and took control of the situation. Everything is normal now,” he added. [caption id="attachment_255401" align="aligncenter" width="800"] Two factions of Jubo League clash at Shaheed Alauddin Chattar in Satkhira town on Monday, March 26, 2018 Dhaka Tribune[/caption] Even though police dispersed the groups soon, tension was still running high in the town later in the evening. Both groups of the ruling party’s youth wing later blamed each other for the clash that apparently was the result of a conflict over the new committee of Jubo League’s municipal unit announced on Saturday. Jubo League municipal unit Convener MA Kadir alleged that Mannan had started issuing threats against his rivals after crashing the meeting by forcibly getting on the stage. When Chhatra League and Tanti League leaders protested, Mannan’s supporters launched the attack. Mannan, on the other hand, claimed he was addressing the meeting when Mohitul Alam threw a chair at him, before launching an attack on his supporters. Chhatra League’s district unit President Rezaul Islam Reza also alleged that Jubo League leaders and activists, led by Mannan, had also attacked their meeting-bound procession in front of Bashundhara Market. Right after the incident, Chhatra League leaders and activists had laid a brief siege on Satkhira Sadar police station demanding arrest of the Jubo League supporters who clashed.
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail