• Monday, Jan 25, 2021
  • Last Update : 12:28 am

In pictures: One last hurrah for RpCC polls candidates before electioneering ends Tuesday midnight

  • Published at 09:42 pm December 19th, 2017
  • Last updated at 09:47 pm December 19th, 2017
All the mayor and councilor candidates for the Rangpur City Corporation (RpCC) election had a busy day Tuesday before the curtain is set to fall on the electioneering on midnight, 32 hours before the start of balloting. All types of rallies, processions and showdowns will remain prohibited in the election areas from Tuesday midnight as the polling begins at 8am on Thursday. Seven candidates are in the election race for the mayoral post, while 211 candidates for ward councillors and 65 women candidates for reserved councillors, said SM Asaduzzaman, Director (PR) at the Election Commission Secretariat. The candidates, both mayoral and running for councilor posts, spent the whole day meeting people at different wards of the city, in order to drum up support in their favour. At the tail end of the campaigning time, Jatiya Party candidate Mustafizur Rahman Mustafa held a rally in Rangpur city’s Ranchandi area, on Tuesday morning. Incumbent Rangpur city mayor, Awami League’s Sharfuddin Ahmed Jhantu also attened a large rally. BNP candidate Kawsar Jahan Babla too was busy holding many rallies in the city. The campaigning will end at midnight and all non-locals have already been asked to vacate the electoral area. Law enforcement agencies have beefed up vigilance in the city, including setting up a four-tier security system for at risk-polling centres. Two hundred motorcycles have already been confiscated as a part of security protocol. Sources say police are also keeping a close eye on weapons and whether people with rap sheets are entering in the area to make sure the elections remains violence-free. Rangpur Range Deputy Inspector General (DIG) Khandker Golam Faruk told the Dhaka Tribune that a letter has been sent to all residents in the city to avoid outdoor activities at night. The city has been divided into four parts to ensure fair voting. Rangpur's Regional Election returning Officer Subhash Chandra Sarkar said they have taken every precaution to make sure the elections are fair This time the election is going to be held with the polls symbols of political parties unlike its maiden election held on December 20, 2012, when pro-Awami League Sarfuddin Ahmed (Jhantu) was elected mayor defeating his nearest rival Mostafizur Rahman. A total of 3,93,994 voters -- 1,96,356 men and 1,97,638 women -- are expected to exercise their voting right to elect a mayor, 33 ward councillors and 11 councillors to the reserved seats of women in the election. The voting will take place at 193 polling centers and 128 of which are said to be vulnerable, or at risk of violence across the Rangpur city on December 21. Just one polling station -- the Begum Rokeya Government College at ward 25 -- will see the use of newly designed electronic voting machines. The balloting will start at 8am and continue till 4pm without any break.
Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail