• Monday, Jul 23, 2018
  • Last Update : 12:55 pm

13 mayoral candidates in Rangpur city polls

  • Published at 11:54 pm November 22nd, 2017
  • Last updated at 12:01 am November 23rd, 2017
13 mayoral candidates in Rangpur city polls
A total of 13 candidates have submitted their nomination papers to vie for the mayoral post in the Rangpur City Corporation polls scheduled for December 21. The submission of nomination papers started on November 6 and ended on Wednesday.
Also Read- City polls to be a test of might for Awami League, BNP
Incumbent Mayor Sharfuddin Ahmed Jhantu received ruling Awami League's nomination for contesting the polls while Kausar Zaman Babla from BNP and Mostafizar Rahman from Jatiya Party are in the election race. Three rebel candidates - AL's Abdur Rouf Manik, BNP's Nazmul Alam Nazu and Jatiya Party's Asif Shahriar -- also filed nomination for the mayoral post. Bangladesher Samajtantrik Dal-nominated Abdul Kuddus, National People's Party's Selim Aktar and ATM Golam Mostafa of Islami Shasantantra Anodolon are also in the race apart from four independent candidates.