• Sunday, Nov 17, 2019
  • Last Update : 03:52 pm

PM takes charge of two more ministries

  • Published at 05:30 pm December 11th, 2018
File photo of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune

Hasina takes charge of science, telecom ministries helmed by technocrats

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has taken charge of two more ministries after the government accepted the resignations of four technocrat ministers.

The Cabinet Division issued a gazette notification in this regard on Tuesday, reports UNB.

It said that the prime minister has distributed four ministries, previously headed by technocrat ministers, among her Cabinet colleagues.

Hasina will supervise the ministries of science and technology, and posts, telecommunications and information technology, alongside her current portfolios – Cabinet Division, Defence Ministry, and the Armed Forces Division.

Clockwise, Nurul Islam BSc, Matior Rahman, Mustafa Jabbar and Yafesh Osman | Dhaka Tribune

LGRD and Cooperatives Minister Khandker Mosharraf Hossain was given additional charge of the Expatriates' Welfare and Overseas Employment Ministry. Liberation War Affairs Minister AKM Mozammel Huq will also lead the Religious Affairs Ministry.

Following the prime minister’s call, four technocrat ministers on November 6 stepped down ahead of the 11th general elections, scheduled for December 30.

Matior Rahman had helmed the Religious Affairs Ministry, Nurul Islam the Expatriates' Welfare and Overseas Employment Ministry, Yeafesh Osman the Science and Technology Ministry, and Mustafa Jabbar headed the Posts, Telecommunications and Information Technology Ministry.

Their resignations were accepted on Sunday.