• Sunday, Nov 17, 2019
  • Last Update : 11:05 am

Restrictions on Indian entry ports for Bangladeshi travellers lifted

  • Published at 04:44 pm June 5th, 2017
  • Last updated at 11:52 pm June 5th, 2017
Restrictions on Indian entry ports for Bangladeshi travellers lifted
Indian High Commission in Bangladesh has announced the removal of entry and exit restrictions on visa issued to Bangladeshi nationals. The announcement was made on Monday through Facebook. The restrictions have been removed from 24 international airports and integrated check posts (ICPs) at Haridaspur and Gede. The 24 international airports include Ahmedabad, Amousi (Lucknow), Varanasi, Bangalore, Calicut, Chennai, Cochin, Coimbatore, Dabolim (Goa), Delhi, Gaya, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Mangalore, Mumbai, Nagpur, Pune, Amritsar, Trichy, Trivandrum, Bagdogra and Chandigarh. The announcement was made as per the revised guidelines. The revised guidelines aim to further liberalising movement of Bangladeshi nationals to India and to strengthen people-to-people contacts, said the Indian High Commission in its Facebook post. Earlier in 2012, Indian government imposed restriction to the travellers of Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Pakistan, China, Iraq, Iran, Sudan and stateless people on entering the country for more than once within two months. The Indian tourist visa holders of these countries were asked to seek permission for entering India for multiple times within two months.