• Saturday, Nov 27, 2021
  • Last Update : 01:37 am

Awami League takes lead in second phase of municipality elections

  • Published at 11:48 am January 17th, 2021
Bogra 2nd phase municipality polls
File photo: Long line of female voters at Bashipur Government Primary School to cast their franchise in the Santahar municipality polls In Bogra district on Saturday, January 16, 2021 Dhaka Tribune

In Basurhat municipality of Noakhali, Awami League candidate Md Abdul Quader Mirza, the younger brother of Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader, has been unofficially declared mayor 

The ruling Awami League-nominated candidates have taken the lead in the second phase of the municipality polls held in 60 different municipal bodies on Saturday amid reports of violence, irregularities, and election boycotts.

The ruling party candidates secured victory in at least five out of seven municipalities where results were declared.

In Basurhat municipality of Noakhali, Awami League-backed candidate Md Abdul Quader Mirza, the younger brother of Awami League General Secretary and Road Transport and Bridges Minister Obaidul Quader, has been unofficially declared mayor.

Mirza bagged 10,738 votes in the polls while his rival BNP-nominated candidate Kamal Uddin Chowdhury got 1,778 votes. Independent candidate (Bangladesh Jamaat-e-Islami-backed) Mosharraf Hossain secured 1,451 votes.

In Bagerhat, Awami League-nominated candidate Sheikh Abdur Rahman won the mayoral race in Mongla port municipality elections, bagging 11,588 votes.

BNP-nominated mayoral candidate Zulfiqar Ali, who along with 12 other ward councillor aspirants boycotted the polls, got 582 votes.

In Narsingdi, Awami League candidate Mohammad Aminur Rashid Sujan has been elected mayor unofficially in the Monohardi municipality polls.

He secured 8,882 votes while his rival BNP candidate Mahmudul Haq got 585 votes.

In Jhenaidah, Awami League aspirant Kazi Ashraful Azam bagged 10,887 votes and won the mayoral race in Shailkupa municipality elections.

Independent candidate Toyebur Rahman Khan secured 7,281 votes.

In Gazipur, Awami League candidate Anisur Rahman has been elected mayor for the fourth consecutive term in Sripur municipality polls.

Anisur, also the organizing secretary of Gazipur district unit Awami League, bagged 23,486 votes and his nearest rival BNP candidate Advocate Kazi Khan got 10,096 votes.

In Chandina municipality of Comilla, Awami League-nominated aspirant Md Shawkat Hossain Bhuiyan won the mayoral race. 

In Moulvibazar, Awami League candidates Sipar Uddin Ahmad and Md Jewel Ahmad won the elections in Kulaura and Kamolganj municipalities respectively.

In Rajshahi, two Awami League-nominated candidates and another rebel candidate of the ruling party won the polls in three municipalities.

Abdul Malek became the mayor-elect of Bhabaniganj municipality in Bagmara upazila while AKM Ataur Rahman Khan has been declared mayor unofficially in Kakanhat municipality of Godagari upazila.

Rebel candidate Mukter Ali won the polls in Arani municipality of Bagha upazila.

In Dinajpur, Awami League candidate Akkas Ali has become the mayor-elect in Birampur municipality elections.

In Gangni municipality of Meherpur, Awami League aspirant Ahmed Ali has been declared mayor unofficially in the elections.

Earlier, four other mayoral candidates boycotted the polls bringing allegations of various irregularities.  

In Pabna, Awami League aspirants KM Kamruzzaman Majed, Mahbubul Alam Bachchu, and Ishak Ali Malitha won the polls in Faridpur, Santhia, and Ishwardi municipalities respectively.

Besides, Golam Hasnayen Russel, mayoral candidate of the ruling party, has been elected unopposed in Bhangura municipality elections.

In Naogaon, Awami League-backed candidate Rezaul Kabir Chowdhury won the Nazipur municipality elections.

He bagged 7,685 votes while his nearest rival BNP candidate Anwar Hossain got 5,150 votes.

Facebook 51
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail