• Monday, Nov 29, 2021
  • Last Update : 11:14 pm

CCC polls: Rebel councillor contestants a pain in the neck for AL

  • Published at 10:50 am January 15th, 2021
ballot box paper-vote-election-Dhaka-Tribune-file-photo
File photo of a woman putting her ballot paper in the ballot box after casting her vote Dhaka Tribune

Against this backdrop, the city chapter of Awami League has decided to take organizational steps against the rebel councillor candidates

The tenacious rebel councilor candidates who refused to quit the race have turned out to be a pain in the back for Awami League.

On January 12, four days after the electioneering campaign resumed, the supporters of Awami League-backed councillor candidate, Nazrul Islam, and rebel candidate, Abdul Kader, engaged in the gunfight engaged in a gunfight that left one dead in the city.

Previously on March 18, the supporters of two councillor candidates – Morshed Akhter Chowdhury and Md Ismail – locked into a clash leaving a man dead.

Against this backdrop, the city chapter of Awami League has decided to take organizational steps against the rebel councillor candidates.

Although the party decided to take hardline, the rebel contestants have refused to step out of the electoral race and are still standing their ground.

This time a total of 17 immediate past ward councillors including 14 general and three reserved have failed to secure tickets from Awami League for entering the fray. And most of them are known to be followers of Awami League Chittagong city unit general secretary and outgoing mayor AJM Nasir Uddin.

This time 12 out of the 17 immediate past ward councillors who have fallen out of favour are still running the electoral race. AJM Nasir himself has failed to secure the party ticket for vying as a mayoral candidate.

Also Read - One killed in pre-election shootout in Chittagong

Speaking about the party’s stand regarding the rebel candidates, AJM Nasir Uddin said that they would serve notice on the candidates who have become contestants without the party's approval.

“All will have to abide by the party decision. Otherwise, organizational steps will be taken against the candidates violating the party's decision. Steps will also be taken against them so that they could not get any nomination or organizational post in the future,” said Nasir.

Meanwhile, Chittagong Metropolitan Police (CMP) beefed up vigilance to avert any electoral violence or clashes in the city.

This time, seven mayoral candidates including Awami League-nominated Rezaul Karim Chowdhury, BNP-backed Dr Shahadat Hossain, MA Matin backed by Bangladesh Islamic Front, Abul Manjur backed by National Peoples Party, Wahed Murad backed by Islamic Front Bangladesh, and Jannatul Islam backed by Islami Andolon Bangladesh have entered the fray.

Besides, 172 councillor candidates for 40 general wards and 57 councilors for the reserved seat for women have joined the electoral race.

This time 1,951,052 voters will exercise their voting rights for the CCC polls billed for January 27.

Facebook 51
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail