• Tuesday, Dec 07, 2021
  • Last Update : 04:27 am

24 municipalities to hold polls Monday

  • Published at 05:10 pm December 27th, 2020
File photo: A woman putting ballot paper in a ballot box after casting her vote Dhaka Tribune

Voting will begin at 8am and continue till 4pm via Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs)

Elections to 24 municipalities are set to be held in different districts of the country on Monday.

In the first phase, the election will be held at municipalities under 23 districts. The Election Commission (EC) has completed all preparations, including for the maintenance of law and order at the election. 

Voting will begin at 8am and continue till 4pm via Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).

Voters will elect a mayor, three reserved seat councillors and nine general councillors for each of the municipalities.

The law enforcement situation is better than in previous polls and there have been no negative reports till now, said SM Asaduzzaman, joint secretary (director-public relations) of the Election Commission Secretariat.

Magistrates and law enforcement agencies are working to maintain the electoral code of conduct in the districts, he added.

On November 22, the EC announced the election schedules for 25 municipalities. However, the election at Sripur Municipality of Gazipur was rescheduled to January 16 after the death of the BNP mayoral candidate for the municipality.

The last date for nomination paper submission was December 1, nomination papers were scrutinized on December 3 and the last date for withdrawal of nominations was December 10.

The 24 municipalities are Panchagarh in Panchagarh district, Pirganj in Thakurgaon, Phulbari in Dinajpur, Badarganj in Rangpur, Kurigram in Kurigram district, Putia and Katakhali in Rajshahi, Shahjadpur in Sirajganj, Chatmohor in Pabna, Khoksha in Kushtia, Chuadanga, Chalna in Khulna, Betagi in Barguna, Kuakata in Patuakhali, Uzirpur and Bakerganj in Barisal, Gafargaon in Mymensingh, Madan in Netrakona, Manikganj, Dhamrai in Dhaka, Dirai in Sunamganj, Barolekha in Moulvibazar, Shayesthaganj in Habiganj and Sitakunda in Chittagong.

93 mayoral aspirants, 848 hopefuls for councillor posts and 277 women candidates for reserved seats will contest in the elections slated for Monday.

A strike force of police and Ansar members will be present in each municipality, as well as three mobile forces and three teams of RAB.

For municipalities with less than 10,000 voters, a platoon of Border Guard Bangladesh will be on duty, Two platoons will be stationed at municipalities with over 10,000 voters and three platoons at municipalities with over 50,000 voters.

Besides, 11 law enforcement personnel will be deployed at each voting centre to maintain law and order on voting day. Voting centres deemed risky will have 13 law enforcement officials on duty.

After the first phase, elections to 61 municipalities in different districts will be held in the second phase on January 16, and to 64 municipalities in the 3rd phase on January 30, as per the schedule announced by the Election Commission.

The elections to all municipalities are expected to be completed by March or April next year, according to EC.

After the amendment of the local government act, municipality elections were held in the country in 2015. A total of 20 political parties took part in the election.

Facebook 51
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail