• Friday, May 14, 2021
  • Last Update : 04:10 pm

AL candidates win Khulna, Dinajpur, Sirajganj

File photo of a woman putting her ballot paper in a ballot box after casting her vote Dhaka Tribune

The election results came out on Wednesday morning

Three Awami League (AL) candidates have won the by-polls in Dinajpur, Sirajganj, and Khulna.

The election results came out on Wednesday morning.

Unofficial election results available so far show the ruling AL candidates dominating the elections and by-elections to zila, upazila, and union parishads held on Tuesday.

In Sirajganj, ruling party candidate Anwar Hossain Babu won after securing 9,286 votes while his rival, independent candidate Rafiqul Islam, got 2,425 votes, said Shahzadpur Upazila Election Officer Jahangir Hossain.

In Khulna, AL's Anwar Iqbal Mantu was elected the chairman of Paikgachha Upazila unofficially, after defeating his rival BNP candidate Dr Mohammad Abdul Mazid.

Mantua got 74,680 votes while BNP candidate Mazid got 2,952 votes, said Upazila Nirbahi Officer ABM Khalid Hossain Siddique.

BNP candidate Abdul Mazid rejected the election results alleging irregularities.

In Dinajpur, AL candidate Rabiul Islam Shohag won the Sadar Upazila Chairman election after securing 52,422 votes, said Sadar Upazila Nirbahi Officer Zayed Ibne Abul Fazal.

His rival candidate Uttam Kumar, an independent candidate, bagged 5,169 votes.

Besides, AL candidate Rayhan Uddin won in Sarankhola upazila in Bagerhat district while Mollah Emdadul Haque secured his victory by bagging 80,136 votes in Manda upazila of Naogaon.

Meanwhile, AL candidates won in Patikapara union and Goddimari union in Lalmonirhat but an independent candidate won in Dalgram union.

In Chuadanga, AL candidates won in Goraitupi union of Sadar upazila and Dauki union of Alamdanga upazila.

More than 200 local bodies went to polls with balloting starting at 9am and continuing till 5pm without any break.

Among the local bodies, regular elections were held to one upazila parishad (Daudkandi of Comilla) and 10 union parishads in different districts amid the coronavirus pandemic.

Besides, by-polls were held to seven zila parishads, eight upazila parishads, and 177 union parishads.

The 15 union parishads where regular elections were held are -- three each in Rangpur Sadar upazila and Lohagara upazila of Chittagong, two each in Bhangura of Pabna and Madhukhali of Faridpur, one each in Kalapara of Patuakhali, Lalmohan of Bhola, Chuadanga Sadar, Rupganj of Narayanganj, and Fatikchhari of Chittagong.

By-polls to chairman posts were held at 41 union parishads.

Facebook 51
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail