• Thursday, Apr 02, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:39 am

BNP picks new faces for by-polls to 3 parliament seats

  • Published at 11:05 pm February 17th, 2020
BNP logo
Logo of Bangladesh Nationalist Party

The deadline for submission of nomination papers is February 19

BNP has picked new faces for the by-elections to three parliamentary seats, including Dhaka 10, billed for March 21.

The party nominated its leaders Sheikh Rabiul Islam for the Dhaka 10 seat while Kazi Khairuzzaman Shipon for Bagerhat 4 and Dr Syed Mainul Hasan Sadik for Gaibandha 3.

BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir announced the names of the candidates after an interview by the party nomination board at BNP chairperson’s Gulshan office on Monday night, reports UNB.

Talking to reporters, the three BNP candidates said they are going to take part in the by-polls amid an adverse situation as part of their party’s movement to free Khaleda Zia and “restore” democracy.

The by-elections to Gaibandha 3, Bagerhat 4 and Dhaka 10 constituencies will be held on March 21 as per the schedule announced by the Election Commission on February 6.

The deadline for submission of nomination paper is February 19, while the last date for the withdrawal of candidacy is February 29.

Gaibandha 3 constituency fell vacant following the death of Awami League MP M Eunus Ali Sarkar on December 27 last.

Bagerhat 4 constituency fell vacant following the death of Awami League MP Mozammel Hossain on January 10.

Besides, Dhaka 10 Awami League MP Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh resigned on December 29, to contest the Dhaka South City Corporation (DSCC) election.