• Sunday, Feb 23, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:18 pm

AL starts selling nomination forms for by-elections

  • Published at 09:30 pm February 8th, 2020
web-awami league -syed zakir hossain-dhaka tribune
Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune

Last date for submitting the nomination forms is February 14

The ruling Awami League has started the sale of nomination forms for the upcoming by-elections to three vacant parliamentary constituencies. 

Aspiring candidates for joining the by-election race have started collecting the nomination papers from Saturday morning, reports UNB. 

General secretary of Bangladesh Krishok League Umme Kulsum Smrity collected her nomination form  for Gaibandha -3 while former Awami League leader Mizanur Rahman Jony and former vice-president of district Awami League Dr Abdur Rahim Khan collected nomination form for Bagherhat -4.

The sale of nomination forms began at 10:00am on Saturday, and continued until 5:00 pm at the political office of the party president in Dhaka’s Dhanmondi area.

Candidates of Awami League's nomination for the by-elections of Dhaka-10, Gaibandha-3, and Bagerhat-4 constituencies of the Jatiya Sangsad can collect and submit the nomination forms from February 8 to February 14.

The Election Commission on February 6 announced the schedule for by-elections to Dhaka-10, Gaibandha-3 and Bagerhat-4 constituencies fixing the voting on March 21.

According to the announcement, the nomination paper submission deadline is February 19, verification on February 23, appeal filing on February 24-26, appeal settlement on February 28, withdrawal deadline on February 29 and symbol distribution on March 1.

Dhaka-10 constituency fell vacant after Awami League Member of Parliament Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh resigned on December 29 to contest in the Dhaka South City Corporation election while Gaibandha-3 and Bagherhat-4 fell vacant following the death of Awami League Member of Parliament M Yunus Ali Sarker on December 27 and Mozammel Hossain on January 10.

Though electronic voting machines (EVM) will be used instead of ballots in Dhaka-10, other two constituencies voting will be done by ballots.