• Wednesday, Sep 23, 2020
  • Last Update : 09:27 am

All except heavyweight mayoral aspirants lose security deposit

  • Published at 10:45 pm February 2nd, 2020
Election Mehehdi
File Photo: A polling officer marks a voter with ink during Dhaka city polls 2020 on Saturday, February 1, 2020 Mehedi Hasan/Dhaka Tribune

According to the Representation of the People Order (RPO), the security money of any candidate who fails to get one-eighth or 12.5% of the votes cast for a given seat will be confiscated

Other than the four mayoral aspirants endorsed by ruling Awami League and BNP, the rest who competed in the elections to Dhaka South and North city corporations have lost their security deposits.

According to the Representation of the People Order (RPO), the security money of any candidate who fails to get one-eighth or 12.5% of the votes cast for a given seat will be confiscated.

Before the much hyped all-EVMs elections, the Election Commission (EC) received Tk100,000 as security money from each of the 13 mayoral aspirants.

Tk20,000 was set as the deposit fee for women candidates who vied for reserved ward councillor posts. But general ward councillor candidates had to pay Tk50,000 as security deposit. 

According to unofficial results, Awami League nominated Barrister Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh became the mayor elect of Dhaka South City Corporation (DSCC), bagging 424,595 votes, while his rival, BNP's Ishraque Hossain bagged 236,512 votes.

Apart from Taposh and Ishraque, other DSCC mayoral candidates like Haji Saifuddin Ahmed Milon of Jatiya Party, Maulana Abdur Rahman of Islami Andolan Bangladesh, Bahrane Sultan Bahar of National People’s Party, Md Aktaruzzaman alias Ayatullah of Bangladesh Congress, and Abdus Samad Sujan of Gono Front received much below the required votes.

On the other hand, Atiqul Islam from the ruling party was unofficially declared elected mayor of Dhaka North City Corporation (DNCC), securing 447,211 votes in the polls. His nearest contender was BNP backed Tabith Awal, who bagged 264,161 votes.

In DNCC, other mayoral candidates such as Ahammad Sazedul Haque of Communist Party of Bangladesh, Shahin Khan of the Progressive Democratic Party, Fazle Bari Masud of Islami Andolan Bangladesh, and Anisur Rahman Dewan of National People’s Party, also performed poorly in the elections.

Nine mayoral aspirants failed to bag a minimum of 88,936 votes in Saturday's elections that would have allowed them to have their security deposit refunded.

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail