• Friday, Jan 24, 2020
  • Last Update : 08:49 pm

Chittagong 8 by-polls Jan 13

  • Published at 07:27 pm December 1st, 2019
Election Commission
File photo of Nirbachan Bhaban, which houses the offices of the Election Commission and its secretariat, in Dhaka's Agargaon Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune

December 22 is the deadline for candidature withdrawal

Election Commission (EC) Senior Secretary Md Alamgir has announced that the by-poll to Chittagong-8 constituency is set to be held on January 13.

The announcement came at a press conference at Nirbachan Bhaban’s media room, reports BSS.

As per the schedule, the last date of nomination papers' submission is December 12 and the scrutiny of nomination papers is going to be held on December 15.

December 22 is the deadline for candidature withdrawal.

Md Alamgir said: "The EC will use Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) in all centres."

The Jatiya Sangsad seat became vacant following the death of the Executive President of a faction of Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JaSaD) Mainuddin Khan Badal

On November 7, Badal passed away at a hospital in India's Bengaluru.