• Wednesday, Feb 26, 2020
  • Last Update : 12:05 am

Bogra 6 by-polls: BNP's Siraj elected

  • Published at 09:41 pm June 24th, 2019
web-GM Siraj
BNP MP-elect Golam Mohammad Siraj Dhaka Tribune

The voting started around 9am and continued till 5pm without any break

Golam Mohammad Siraj of BNP has been elected as the winner in the Bogra 6 constituency by-polls.

The elected BNP candidate got 89,742 votes while his nearest compotator, Awami League's T Zaman Niketa, got 32, 297 votes in the election yesterday.

Confirming the matter to Dhaka Tribune, Returning Officer Mahbub Alam Shah said: "Of the total 387,458 voters, 133,870 people have cast their votes in the election. Some 34.55% people voted in the election.

Siraj bagged 89,742 votes while his nearest rival T Zaman Niketa of Awami League polled 32,297, according to unofficial results of all the 141 centres.

Golam Mohammad Siraj of BNP, T Zaman Niketa of Awami League, Nurul Islam Omar of Jatiya Party, Dr Mansur Rahman of Bangladesh Congress, Mufti Rafiqul Islam of Muslim League, and independent candidate Md Minhaz Mondal, are the three candidates who participated in this by-polls.

Another independent candidate, Syed Kabir Ahmed Mithu, quit the election race with the expiry of the deadline.

Out of a total of 141 polling centres, the Election Commission had identified 111 as important.

Previously, the constituency was declared vacant as BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, who was elected from the parliamentary seat in the December 30 general election in 2018, did not take oath as MP within the stipulated 90 days from the date of the first meeting of parliament.