• Thursday, Feb 27, 2020
  • Last Update : 11:07 am

Bogra 6 by-election ends

  • Published at 09:46 am June 24th, 2019
web-bogra by-polls
Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) are being sent to polling centers from Shaheed Chandu Stadium in Bogra on Sunday, June 23, 2019 Dhaka Tribune

The voting started around 9am on Monday

The by-election to Bogra-6 constituency is has ended on Monday.

The voting started around 9am and continued till 5pm without any break.

People of the constituency are voting for their preferred candidate in the election by using Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).

The constituency was declared vacant as BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, who was elected from the parliamentary seat in the December 30 general election in 2018, did not take oath as MP within the stipulated 90 days from the date of the first meeting of parliament.

Golam Mohammad Siraj of BNP, T Zaman Niketa of Awami League, Nurul Islam Omar of Jatiya Party, Dr Mansur Rahman of Bangladesh Congress, Mufti Rafiqul Islam of Muslim League, and independent candidate Md Minhaz Mondal, are there in the by-elections race.

Another independent candidate, Syed Kabir Ahmed Mithu, quit the election race with the expiry of the deadline.

There are 387,458 voters -- 191,668 males and 195,790 females - in the constituency.

Out of a total of 141 polling centres, the Election Commission has identified 111 as important.

Five policemen and 12 Ansar members will be on duty at every important polling centre, while four policemen and 12 Ansar members will be deployed at all other centres.

There will also be 12 platoons of Border Guard Bangladesh, 12 teams of Rapid Action Battalion (RAB) and 12 executive magistrates in the field.