• Friday, Jan 24, 2020
  • Last Update : 08:41 am

General holiday declared in 23 upazilas on June 18

  • Published at 09:57 pm June 16th, 2019
File photo of a voter casting ballot during an election in Bangladesh Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune

The holiday was declared for the 5th phase of UP polls to be held on June 18

The government has announced a general holiday in 23 upazilas where the fifth phase of the upazila parishad (UP) elections will be held on June 18.

The Public Administration Ministry issued a gazette notification to this effect on Sunday.

The gazette declared a holiday for government, non-government, and semi-government institutions and educational institutions on the occasion, except for public examination centre .

The fifth phase election will be held in Nakla, Naldanga, Kamarkhanda, Sundarganj, Rangabali, Taltali, Gazipur sadar, Narayanganj Bandar, Madaripur sadar, Kalkali, Shaistaganj, Bancharampur, Bijoynagar, Comilla Adarsha sadar and Sadar south, Noakhali sadar, Paba, Purbadhala, Jamalganj, Katiadi, Mathbaria and Chhagalnaiya upazilas.

Elections in Dumuria upazila of Khulna, which was postponed earlier, will be held on June 18 as well.

Voting will take place from 8am to 4pm without any break in the respective upazilas, Election Commission sources said.

The Election Commission has taken all necessary steps for the 5th phase elections,  sources added.

All types of rallies, processions, and showdowns have been prohibited in the election upazilas since last night.