• Thursday, Feb 27, 2020
  • Last Update : 10:41 am

Rumeen Farhana elected to BNP reserved seat

  • Published at 07:55 pm May 28th, 2019
Web_Rumeen Farhana-Facebook
File photo of Barrister Rumeen Farhana Collected

Election Commission Joint Secretary and Returning Officer Abul Quasem made the announcement

Barrister Rumeen Farhana has been elected to BNP’s reserved seat for women in parliament.

Election Commission Joint Secretary and Returning Officer Abul Quasem made the announcement on Tuesday.

“Tuesday was the last date for withdrawal of nominations. As Rumeen Farhana did not withdraw her nomination and was unopposed, we have declared her the winner,” he said.

He added that the official gazette notification would be issued in a few days, after necessary documents are presented to the Election Commission.

Rumeen, daughter of late Language Movement hero Oli Ahad, submitted her nomination form to the Election Commission on Monday, May 20.

Rumeen said she submitted her nomination form to Returning Officer Abul Kashem around 1:15pm, when her party picked her as the lone candidate for election to the seat.

She also said she would demand BNP Chairperson Khaleda Zia's release from jail in parliament, once she takes oath as an MP.

Expressing gratitude to BNP for nominating her to the seat, Rumeen said she would perform her duty as an opposition lawmaker with sincerity and honesty.

The date for scrutinizing nomination papers was on May 21, and the last date for withdrawal of candidature was May 28.

As BNP nominated only one candidate, Rumeen was declared elected just after the expiry of the deadline for the withdrawal of candidature.

The 50 seats reserved exclusively for women in parliament are distributed among political parties proportionate to their number of seats in parliament. Since five BNP MPs-elect took oath at the last moment of the stipulated time, the Election Commission made arrangements for Rumeen's election to the one women's reserved seat her party is allotted.

The commission has already completed the polls for the 49 other women's reserved seats. Among the reserved seats, 43 women MPs were elected from the ruling Awami League, four from the main opposition Jatiya Party, one from Workers’ Party and one independent.