• Saturday, Jan 25, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:34 am

Fifth phase of upazila polls on June 18

  • Published at 06:56 pm May 9th, 2019
File photo: Voters queue up at a polling centre to cast their ballots in Habiganj's Ajmiriganj Upazila Parishad by-polls on Wednesday Dhaka Tribune

The deadline for submission of nomination papers is May 21

The fifth phase of the Upazila Parishad elections are set to be held in 16 upazilas of the country on June 18.

According to the schedule from the Election Commission, the deadline for submission of nomination papers is May 21, and returning officers will scrutinize the nominations on May 23. 

Meanwhile, the last date for withdrawal of candidacy is May 30.

The 16 upazilas are Nakla in Sherpur district, Naldanga in Natore, Kamarkhand in Sirajganj, Sundarganj in Gaibandha, Rangabali in Patuakhali, Taltali in Barguna, Gazipur Sadar, Narayanganj Sadar, Madaripur Sadar, Kalukhali in Rajbari, Shayestaganj in Habiganj, Bancharampur and Bijoynagar in Brahmanbaria, Comilla Adarsha Sadar, Comilla Sadar South, and Noakhali Sadar.

Earlier, the fourth phase of the upazila polls were held in 106 upazilas on March 31. Average voter turnout was 36.50%, Election Commission data shows. 

The turnout was 43.32% in the first phase upazila polls held in 111 upazilas on March 10, 41.25% in the second phase held in 78 upazilas on March 18, and 41.41% in the third phase held in 116 upazilas on March 24.