• Tuesday, Feb 25, 2020
  • Last Update : 12:04 am

BNP to get one reserved women's seat

  • Published at 09:24 pm May 8th, 2019
web-File photo of the session room inside the Bangladesh Parliament <b>Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune</b>
File photo of the session room inside the Bangladesh Parliament Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune

The Election Commission has set May 20 as the last date of submitting nomination papers

The Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) will get one women's reserved seat as five elected candidates of the party have taken oath and joined the National Parliament.

According to the schedule declared by the Election Commission yesterday, polls for the seat is expected to be held on June 26.

The last date of submitting nomination papers has been set on May 20, last date of scrutinizing nomination papers on May 21, and the last date of withdrawing nominations has been set on May 28.

Speaking to Dhaka Tribune, Helal Uddin Ahmed, secretary of the commission, said: "BNP will get one reserved women's seat for winning in five constituencies. In this case  the party has to submit the name of their candidate to the returning officer with seven days."

Helal added that a gazette would be published in this regard if the returning officer found all papers to be in order.

Out of the 50 reserved women's seats in the parliament, 43 went to the Awami League, four to the Jatiya Party, one to the Worker’s Party and one to an independent candidate—based on the representation ratio of each party.

However, one reserved women's seat remained for BNP since none of the party's members had been sworn into the parliament.

Later on April 25 and April 30, five of the six elected BNP candidates took their oaths, prompting the  Election Commission to announce the schedule.

Although BNP had originally won six seats in the 11th parliamentary election, the party's Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir did not take the oath for his seat in the Bogra 6 constituency.

Following this, Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury declared Fakhrul's seat vacant on April 30.