• Friday, Jan 24, 2020
  • Last Update : 02:19 am

4th phase polls in 107 upazilas on Sunday

  • Published at 09:22 pm March 30th, 2019
File photo of a voter casting ballot during an election in Bangladesh Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune

The Election Commission has suspended the election in six upazilas

The 4th phase of the 5th Upazila Parishad elections are set to be held in 107 upazilas in 16 districts under five divisions today.

The polling will take place from 8am-4pm without any break, while a general holiday has been announced in the respective upazilas on the day.

A total 1,142 aspirants are contesting the chairman, vice-chairman, and women vice-chairman posts in the fourth phase of polls.

Although the chairman posts will be contested under party banners, the vice-chairman and reserved vice-chairman posts will not.

About 150,000 members of police, Rapid Action Battalion (RAB), Border Guard Bangladesh (BGB), Ansar, and the Armed Police Battalion (APBn) have been deployed to maintain the law and order during the elections, while additional BGB personnel will guard 50 upazilas which are considered as risky.

The fourth phase of the elections was scheduled to be held in 128 Upazila Parishads, including six upazilas where the election was postponed in the three previous phases.

The Election Commission has suspended the elections to Dumuria upazila of Khulna, Chhagalnaiya Feni, Trishal of Mymensingh, Barura of Comilla, Mathbaria of Pirojpur and Kabirhat upazila of Noakhali.

In addition, there will be no voting in 15 upazilas as candidates in all posts were elected unopposed.

The fifth phase of the Upazila Parishad elections will be held in 21 upazilas on June 18 this year.