• Tuesday, May 11, 2021
  • Last Update : 08:21 pm

Voting in 78 upazilas ends

  • Published at 09:13 am March 10th, 2019
A man prepares to cast his vote for the upazila election in Natore, on March 10, 2019 Dhaka Tribune

The voting began at 8am on Sunday

Voting in the elections to 78 Upazila Parishads in 12 districts of the country has concluded.

The voting ended at 4 pm on Sunday amid sporadic reports of irregularities.

Voting at 14 polling centres in Sirajganj, Rajshahi, Kurigram and Habiganj districts was suspended over allegations of irregularities and snatching of ballot papers.

In Sirajganj, voting at a polling centre under ward No 1 in Sadar municipality was suspended following allegations of irregularities.

Presiding Officer Anwar Hossain said voting in Mahmudpur Government Primary School centre was suspended at 2:30 am as some local influential people were forcing them to stuff ballot boxes at night.

Following a written complaint by the presiding officer, District Returning Officer Abdul Hossain and Executive Magistrate Mohammad RahmatUllah visited the centre and suspended the voting.

Meanwhile, Anwar and two Assistant Presiding Officers- Abdul Alim and Belal Hossain-were detained for interrogation.

In Habiganj, voting at a polling station of Azmirigang upazila was suspended for snatching ballot papers by some miscreants.

Presiding Officer Mohitush Sutradhar said around 100 people attacked Paschimbagh Government School polling centre and snatched 163 ballot papers.

Later, the authorities suspended the balloting.

Besides, voting at Shahpur Government Primary School centre was suspended in Baniachong upazila following a clash around 11am.

Six people, including Presiding Officer Jahir Alam, Police Constable Jamal Uddin, Ansar member Abdur Malek were injured in the clash, Baniachong UNO Md MamunK Khandaker said.

The clash erupted between the supporters of Awami League candidate Abul Kashem Chowdhury and rebel candidate Iqbal Hossain Khan over occupying a polling centre.

Injured constable Jamal Uddin is being taken to the Combined Military Hospital (CMH) by an air ambulance.

Besides, a group of miscreants also attacked Ikram Government Primary School centre of the upazila. But police brought the situation under control.

In Rajshahi, voting in Al Jamiatus Salafia Alim Madrasa centre in Godagari upazila was suspended following the allegation of irregularities.

Returning Officer Mashiur Rahman said voting in the polling centre was suspended around 12:45pm due to stuffing of ballot boxes.

An assistant presiding officer and two polling agents were detained in this connection.

In Kurigram, voting in 10 polling centres in eight upazilas of the district was suspended following allegations of snatching ballot papers and vote rigging, Returning Officer Hafizur Rahman said.

The size of the electorate in the 78 upazilas is 1,42,48,850 under 5,847 polling stations across 12 districts: Panchagarh, Nilphamari, Lalmonirhat, Kurigram, Jamalpur, Netrakona, Sunamganj, Habiganj, Sirajganj, Joypurhat, Natore and Rajshahi.

Some 207 chairman candidates, 386 vice chairman candidates and 249 woman vice chairman candidates are contesting positions up for grabs in 78 upazilas.

Besides, 15 chairman candidates, six vice chairman contenders and seven woman vice chairman contestants have already been elected without a vote being cast, in the absence of any valid candidate to oppose them.

Facebook 51
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail