• Monday, Oct 14, 2019
  • Last Update : 09:01 am

Upazila polls: Voting in 5 centres in Kurigram suspended

  • Published at 12:58 pm March 10th, 2019
Upazila Parishad voting has been suspended after outside parties tried to keep casting votes at Govt Primary School in Roumari upazila, Kurigram on Sunday, March 10, 2019 Dhaka Tribune

Voting in five centres in three upazilas have been postponed

Voting in five polling centres in Ulipur, Nageswari and Roumari upazilas in Kurigram district has been postponed due to allegations of unlawful activities outside the jurisdiction of the presiding officers.

Returning Officer of Ulipur and Nageswari upazilas and district Election Officer Md Jahangir Alam Rakib, and Assistant Returning Officer, also Upazila Nirbahi Officer (UNO) of Roumari upazila, Dipankar Roy confirmed the matter to the Dhaka Tribune, on Sunday afternoon.

District Election Officer Md Jahangir said: "Voting has been suspended at: no 10 voting centre Madinatul Ulum Dakhil Madrasa, no 48 centre Bhogdanga Govt Primary School, and no 86 centre Kishamat Malotibari Govt Primary School under Ulipur upazila.

Voting at one centre has also been suspended under Nageswari upazila. Voting was suspended after outsiders started to disrupt electoral processes, going out of the jurisdiction of the presiding officer. 

Meanwhile, Dipankar Roy said voting has been suspended at no 31 centre at Govt Primary School in Dhanarchar village under Jadurchar union in Roumari upazila, after outside parties tried to keep casting votes.

The first phase of elections for 78 Upazila Parishads in 12 districts began Sunday morning. Voting started at 8am and will continue till 4pm, without any break.