• Sunday, Aug 25, 2019
  • Last Update : 01:59 am

UP polls: Voting in Nilphamari's 2 upazilas postponed

  • Published at 11:33 pm March 9th, 2019
Map of Nilphamari district

However, voting in four other upazilas of Nilphamari will take place as scheduled

The election commission has postponed voting in Nilphamari sadar and Jaldhaka upazilas in the 5th Upazila Parishad elections due to legal complications.

The 5th Upazila Parishad elections in six upazilas of Nilphamari are scheduled to take place on Sunday. However, voting in two of the upazilas will not take place now.

Nilphamari Deputy Commissioner (DC) Nazia Shirin confirmed the vote postponement on Saturday morning.

The district administration also publicly announced it in the two upazilas by megaphone on Friday night and Saturday morning.

DC Nazia Shirin said: “Though voting for the chairman posts will remain suspended, voting for vice-chairmen and reserved women’s vice-chairman posts will take place as planned."

Voting in Domar, Dimla, Kishoreganj and Saidpur upazilas will take place as planned, she added.

Additional Deputy Commissioner (ADC) Azharul Islam, also the returning officer of Nilphamari sadar upazila, said: “Sadar upazila’s independent candidate Sadik Hossain Nayan’s candidacy was cancelled during scrutiny. He regained his candidature through an appeal with the High Court. An electoral symbol has also been allocated to him.”

Later, Nayan’s opponent, Awami League candidate Shahid Mahmud, filed a leave-to-appeal with the High court challenging Nayan’s candidature. The High Court has fixed April 1 for hearing the leave-to-appeal, he said.

Following the High Court order, the Election Commission issued a notification postponing the vote in the sadar upazila. However, voting for vice-chairman and reserved women’s vice-chairman posts will take place as expected, he added.   

Meanwhile, District Election Officer Fazlul Karim said: “Jaldhaka upazila’s independent candidate Abdul Wahed Bahadur’s nomination paper was cancelled during scrutiny. He got back his candidature through filing appeal with the High Court.”

However, the High court later stayed Wahed's candidacy for six weeks after his opponent Awami League candidate, Ansar Ali Mintu, filed a leave-to-appeal with the court. Voting for vice-chairman and reserved women’s vice-chairman posts will take place in the upazila as usual, he added.