• Saturday, Dec 05, 2020
  • Last Update : 11:20 am

Seven BNP candidates challenge Dec 30 polls result

  • Published at 11:49 pm February 13th, 2019
File photo of Bangladesh Supreme Court Dhaka Tribune

Candidates have filed the cases constituency-wise on Tuesday and Wednesday with the tribunal

Seven BNP national election candidates have filed cases with election tribunal of the High Court on allegations of vote rigging and challenging victory of the candidates elected.

Candidates have filed the cases constituency-wise on Tuesday and Wednesday with the tribunal.

Shairul Kabir Khan, a staff of BNP chairperson's media wing, said the cases were filed as per decision made by the party high command.

“Seven cases have so far been filed. All the possible legal provisions will be utilised by the party in regard to the cases,” he added.

A number of people associated with the case filing to the election tribunals said Jhenaidah 4 candidate Saiful Islam Firoz and Tangail 7 candidate Abul Kalam Azad Siddique filed the cases on Tuesday.

Jahir Uddin Swapan from Barisal 1, Shah Riazul Hannan from Gazipur 4, Naser Rahman from Moulvibazar 3, Abdul Hai from Munshiganj and Hafiz Ibrahim from Bhola 2 filed cases on Wednesday.

Sources also said Mainul Islam Shanto from Manikganj 2, Ashraf Uddin from Narsingdi 5, Nazrul Islam Azad from Narayanganj 2, Nabi Ullah Nabi from Dhaka 5 and Irfan Ibne Aman Omi from Dhaka 2 may file cases on Thursday.

Sources said at least one defeated candidate from all the districts will gradually file cases with the tribunal.

Barrister Ruhul Kuddus Kajol, lawyer for Dhaka's divisional cases, told the Dhaka Tribune that the cases were filed challenging the winning candidates of 11th general election.

“Seven cases were filed in two days. BNP candidates from every district will gradually file cases in next several days,” he said.

Explaining logic behind the cases, he said they have tried to bring the issue of voting irregularities of the general election under the court’s attention through the cases.

Ruhul Kuddus Kajol said they have showed many centres and constituencies where BNP candidates have received zero votes.

“There are centres were hundred percent vote were surprisingly cast in favor of the Awami League candidates. We have tried to show the court these issues,” he said.

Party sources said the BNP high command has already formed a committee of lawyers to supervise this cases.

In addition to barrister Ruhul Kuddus, other team members include Barrister Aminul Haque, advocate Zainul Abedin, Nitai Roy Chowdhury, Mir Nasir Uddin, Fazlur Rahman and Barrister Rajib Pradhan.

Earlier on February 9, BNP took decision of filing of cases from all 64 districts in election tribunal of High Court.

Although some of the BNP standing committee members were against filing of cases, BNP acting chairman Tarique Rahman did not take the reservations into cognizance. 

Later the meeting decided to file cases in the High Court from representatives of all districts by February 15.

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail