• Sunday, Feb 23, 2020
  • Last Update : 08:07 pm

5 candidates get electoral symbols for Gaibandha 3 polls

  • Published at 10:32 pm January 12th, 2019
File photo of a woman putting her ballot paper in a ballot box after casting her vote Dhaka Tribune

Deputy Commissioner Abdul Matin warned the candidates of legal action if anyone violates the code of conduct

A total of five candidates received electoral symbols to contest the upcoming parliamentary polls slated for January 27 from Gaibandha 3 (Sadullapur-Palashbari) constituency of the district.

Deputy Commissioner, also Returning Officer Abdul Matin formally distributed the symbols and a copy of the electoral code of conduct to the candidates or their authorized persons at the conference room of the district Collectorate Building on Friday, reports BSS.

The candidates contesting the polls from the constituency are Awami League nominee Dr Younus Ali Sarker with “boat” symbol, Jatiya Party (Ershad) nominee Barrister Dilara Khandakar   with the symbol of “plough”, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal candidate SM Khademul Islam Khudi  with “torch”, National People’s Party (NPP) candidate Mizanur Rahman Titu  will contest with “mango” symbol and independent candidate Abu Zafar M Zahid with “lion” symbol.

Deputy Commissioner Abdul Matin warned the candidates of legal action if anyone violates the code of conduct. He reminded them that it is their duty to ensure a level playing field for the candidates.

Additional District Magistrate Kaisarul Islam, District Election Officer Mahbubur Rahman and journalists of print and electronic media including national news agency were present on the occasion.

The candidates with their supporters and workers crowded in the conference room to receive the electoral symbols and began electoral campaign.

The parliamentary election slated for December 30 was postponed due to the sudden death of Oikyofront candidate Dr TIM Fazle Rabbi Chowdhury on December 19 due to illness.

Then, the Election Commission announced the re-schedule of the election to be held on January 27.

With a total of 811,854 voters, Gaibnadha 3 constituency encompasses with Palashbari and Sadullapur upazilas.