• Thursday, Jan 23, 2020
  • Last Update : 05:49 pm

11th general polls: BNP's Abdus Sattar wins in Brahmanbaria 2

  • Published at 11:56 am January 9th, 2019
Brahmanbaria 2 abdus sattar
MP elect from Brahmanbaria 2 constituency Abdus Sattar Bhuiyan Dhaka Tribune

The 11th general election was held on December 30, 2018

BNP candidate Abdus Sattar Bhuiyan has been unofficially elected in Brahmanbaria 2 constituency.

Re-balloting in three polling centres of Brahmanbaria 2 constituency—where voting had been suspended during the 11th general election— took place from 8am-4pm uninterrupted on Wednesday.

The polling centres were at Jatrapur Government Primary School, Bahadurpur Government Primary School, and Sohagpur Dakkhin Government Primary School .

Contesting under the sheaf of paddy symbol, Abdus Sattar bagged 83,994 votes. His nearest rival was independent candidate  Moyeenuddin Moyeen, who received 75,419 votes under the hand of banana symbol.

Earlier, it was reported that Abdus Sattar needed 208 votes to win the constituency, while Moyeenuddin required 10,367 votes. A total 10,574 voters were set to cast their ballots at the three polling centres. As the margin of votes between Sattar and Moyeenuddin (10,159) was lower than the total number of voters at the three polling centres, re-voting was deemed necessary.

Sattar had bagged 82,723 votes, and Moyeen 72,564 votes during the general election held on December 30.