• Tuesday, Nov 12, 2019
  • Last Update : 07:00 pm

BNP, Oikya Front to decide if candidates will take oath on Thursday

  • Published at 10:10 pm January 2nd, 2019
File photo of Jatiya Oikya Front leaders Dhaka Tribune

BNP Press Wing official Shairul Kabir confirmed the matter to the Dhaka Tribune

Although newly elected MPs are scheduled to take their oaths on Thursday, BNP and Jatiya Oikya Front are yet to decide whether their elected candidates will participate.

BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir on Wednesday said the decision on whether newly elected MPs from the party and Jatiya Oikya Front would take oaths will be taken at a meeting at the party chairperson’s Gulshan office around 12pm on Thursday. All five elected MPs from BNP and two others from Oikya Front alliance partners will be present.

BNP Press Wing official Shairul Kabir confirmed the matter to the Dhaka Tribune.

Following the meeting, representatives from BNP and Oikya Front will submit a memorandum rejecting the election results to the Election Commission around 3pm, he added.

Oikya Front candidate elected in Moulvibazar 2 and Jatiya Oikya Prokriya leader Sultan Mohammad Mansur said he would follow the party chief’s decision on whether to participate in the oath taking.

BNP Central Committee Joint Secretary and elected candidate in Chapainawabganj-3 Harunur Rashid also said he would follow the decision taken at the meeting.

As per the constitution, newly elected MPs have to take their oaths within three days of the publication of the Election Commission gazette.

BNP were able to secure victory in only five constituencies in the 11th general election on Sunday, December 30.  BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir was elected in Bogra 6 constituency, while the other four winners from the party are Mosharraf Hossain in Bogra 4, Zahidur Rahman in Thakurgaon 3, Aminul Islam in  Chapainawabganj 2, and Harunur Rashid in Chapainawabganj 3.

Meanwhile, the two Oikya Front candidates who were elected in their constituencies are Sultan Mohammad Mansur in Moulvibazar 2, and Mokabbir Khan in Sylhet 2.